safely run n/a

decipha

I've concluded the only way to resolve my boost problems is to figure out why my car is running so crappy to begin with.

how would i go about disabling the s/c for the time being?

im thinking i could:

disconnect the s/c belt
disconnect the vac line to the intake air flow valve and hold the valve full open

would the car be okay to run like that? do you think it would damage anything?

Possible but...

In order to do that, I believe you would need a tune on your car. Right now, the computer is set up to deliver x amount of fuel in relationship to the amount of air your car is sucking in (measured at the MAF). If you removed the SC, you wouldn't be compressing the air. You would end up with too much fuel for the amount of air in your engine.

If the car would actually run like that, it would be a dog and you would be fouling up your plugs pretty quick (and your 02 sensors). I'm sure there's probably more that I haven't mentioned, but I'm still new to the SC world.

if your car runs bad start with the easy things first, know that.. you've got good plugs and wires, check wire-connections and grounds, make sure there's good elect-grease under the dis, don't discount the egnition switch and it's box

The supercharger doesn't generate air, it just compresses it, well moves it really. Anyway, all air being taken into the cylinders, foregoing any vacuum leaks, is metered by the MAF.

You can remove the SC belt and open the bypass to run the car NA. I do agree that it will be a real dog driving around.

-Rod

In order to do that, I believe you would need a tune on your car. Right now, the computer is set up to deliver x amount of fuel in relationship to the amount of air your car is sucking in (measured at the MAF). If you removed the SC, you wouldn't be compressing the air. You would end up with too much fuel for the amount of air in your engine.