View Full Version : Internet scam..maybe?
spetz01
06-09-2008, 12:07 AM
NOt sure if any of of you use Kijiji...free classified..But I'm looking for an old car for my girl friend..(she wants to drive the bird :( ) I found a 69 Camaro, Red, with a white top, restored from the looks of things, nice new Torque Thrust rims etc.
He wants 8400.oo for it so I emailed him right away with my number. He won't ever call, just emails, and refers to the car as "the unit". "If you have the money you can own the unit"..
So I email him back thinking the car might be in edmonton, like the ad says. He tells me its in storage in Vancover BC, and If I pay through ebay, cause they're brokering the deal for him, it will be delivered to my house. If I don't like it he'll pay the shipping to take it back...Sound to good to be true
He won't send me pictures, I only ever saw the one from the ad, he won't call and I can't even find the listing anymore.
dwayne
06-09-2008, 12:20 AM
it is a scam,dont send a dme to him,you wil loose your money and get no car.
DougD
06-09-2008, 12:26 AM
"Maybe" a scam?? From what you've said the whole thing stinks to high heaven.
Run, don't walk, away
DD
spetz01
06-09-2008, 01:25 AM
lol tell me about it. Heres some of his emails
The car is in Vancouver at the shipping company ready for delivery and you will receive it from there in 5 days in front of your door.In case you want to go ahead here is how will be. The payment will be done by cash money transfer and will be supervised by eBay services.The financial part of this deal will be managed by them. They are acting like a third party in this deal.They will keep the payment until you receive the car and test it. You have to confirm the money to eBay. Once they assure me that the payment is confirmed,I will start the delivery at your address. After you receive and inspect the car to see that everything it's OK they will transfer me the money. Please take into consideration that I will get paid only after you receive the car,test it and give your approval.
If you agree with these terms and you have the money ready, reply me your full name and shipping address(where you want to receive the car) to initiate the transaction,and you will be contacted by ebay with all info you need regarding shipping and payment instructions.
My best wishes and I'm waiting your response so we can move forward with this deal.
Thank You,..
I like this one..
Hello,
Thank you for contacting me regarding my unit.The unit is in immaculate condition,never been abused.The unit has clear title.The amount you will have to pay in order to own the unit is $8400.00!.So if you are decided and have the money reply as soon as possible.
Thank you
I wish I could report this guy, but to who??
Pokey
06-09-2008, 09:44 AM
Totally stinks!
My buddy got ripped off trying to buy a Harley through Ebay, they handled it and the FBI got involved. How to report it? Who knows!
Toms-SC
06-09-2008, 10:16 AM
Scam big time
Young-SC-Owner
06-09-2008, 06:31 PM
Send me 8G's and ill make sure you get my unit too
EDIT: Ok ok, I just noticed how that sounded........Unit = CAR people
spetz01
06-09-2008, 10:20 PM
8 Grands a bit steep for a keyed up Bird :)
spetz01
06-09-2008, 10:38 PM
Heres my last email to him...it...whatever the hell. I googled kijiji car scam and the 2nd one listed was this car and other people dealing with him
On second thought...
Go ~~~~ Yourself and your obvious scam...
I thought I'd ride you along and see how far you'd actually take this. I'm surprised you mother hasn't made you move out of her basement, you fat (I'm guessing....I'm right aren't I?) piece of retarded ~~~~. So glad you were able to figure out the internet...Go figure out how to kill your self in the garage with your mom's car.
Young-SC-Owner
06-09-2008, 10:58 PM
8 Grands a bit steep for a keyed up Bird :)
Thats hitting below the belt....:(
Miller
06-09-2008, 11:01 PM
aiming for the unit
hotrodseanxx
06-09-2008, 11:11 PM
lol def a scam, i was trying to sell my 67 mustang a couple years ago and i ran into the same kind of problems trying to sell it... i had scam offers from canada and africa... since they are out of the states its a lot harder to get to them and prosecute them.
frdlvr30
06-10-2008, 12:11 AM
You can always tell a scam by the way they use the English language, i've found. Their grammar is never perfect and they dont realize it, due to the fact that English is a secondary language to them. I recently had a similar scam tried on me over a Zero turn lawn mower. The guy listed it locally on Craigslist. The ad said it was local. He was selling a 7000.00 mower for 3000.00 with very low hours on it. So, I figured i'd contact him just to see what he had to say. He told me he lived in England, the mower was in Memphis, TN at a shipping depot. And if I wired him the money he would make sure I had the mower in 5 days. He also apologized for his broken English, saying he just had open heart surgery!! I kindly told him that I wasn't buying a freaking lawn mower from someone in the United Kingdom, but it was a nice try. Never heard from him again. Im sure it was someone scamming from one of those internet cafe's in Nigeria or Kenya or something. Watchout guys, they know we have money over here and they will try anything and everything to get their hands on it.....
dwayne
06-10-2008, 12:52 AM
bad part is it is hitting home now.with the eledry,they dont know,that is whats bad.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.