Stock Block Questions.

SSSTANG

After doing alot of reading and searching I've found that the S/C and headgaskets don't get along very well to say the least.

My only question is:

1.) Not includingthe HG issue how much power can the stock bottom end safley handle? (pre 94 and post 94)

2.) If you were on a stock bottom end and it gave on you, exactly what gave and what power were you on? (bad tuning - too much power - etc.)

Power

You will have to use your search buttom. It is your friend. Hours and hours of info. I am no SC expert but I do know that what they knew about these cars 7 years ago , and what they know now is a world apart. They, guys like Dave D and others are constantly pushing the envelope in regards to performance and Ftuner, Frit is learing more about the EEC an proper tunes.

They have gotten some healthy numbers out of this six. 400rwhp was a dream now it is easily attainable with plenty of cash and following other recipes. The record on a stock block is a lot higher than 400, closer to 500, and if it goes get out of the way!:eek::eek: Stephen

Failures of the stock short block on these cars almost always seems to be due to some sort of ignition/fueling system problem. Either the car wasn't tuned for the combination of parts, or some part failed that was required for proper engine ignition/tune.

Other failures will be due to less than perfect maintenance.

Failures seen have been:
Damaged Piston
Bent Connecting Rod
Spun Rod or Main bearing
Cracked Crankshaft.

Basically if it can fail, it's failed on an SC.

Here is an interesting thread on how one person got to 450hp with their stock bottom end.
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63873