Car is shaky/runs rough after HG repair

Specttor

Hi all I got my 91 Tbird SC running last night after a long head gasket repair. When she fires she revs to about 1100-1200 RPM after tapping the gas she drops to about 700-800 RPM and shakes. The shaking seems to worsen as it goes. I am looking for ideas and or maybe something I missed as I am still quite new at this. I included pics of the engine in someone can see something I don't.

Last edited:
I just replied to your last post. Sounds like a vac leak. I can't tell in the pics is the small PVC tube hooked up to the bottom of the intake tube? If that is left open then that would cause a lean condition.

Ok would you by chance know of a picture that shows what you are talking about? I added this second post because I had sometime to fiddle with a few things it seems the stalling has stopped and I was able to get some pics. The father in law said to try a method of taking the wires off the module to see if there is a cylinder not contributing. Said to pull them 1 at a time and monitor the RPM differences. Would this be a good idea as well?

check the o2's

Did you change the o2 sensors after the HG repair? If they got coolant on them, they are done. When mine popped, it soaked the passenger side one to the point where it was dripping when I pulled it out.

Corey

The passenger side o2 is located after the exhasut manifold in the downtube. The driver side one is in the exhaust manifold. I have a feeling if the o2's went, they would throw a code. Do you have a check engine light, have you pulled codes?

Looking at your third picture I don't see the tube that connects to the bottom of the intake tube between the air cleaner assembly and the throttle body. If I remember correctly that line runs from there to the front of the drivers side valve cover.