Try to save the 3.8SC or swap in a 4.6?

Nevada1906

Greetings fellow SC guys,

This forum has been a huge help, as I'm new to the SC. You've all been a tremendous resource so far, so much so that I decided to become a member. Thanks.

My white '93 auto is my first SC, and I think it's got the potential to be great. My overall impression of the vehicle is that it has great off-idle torque, I love the shape, and the fact that it has an IRS. I've loved the MN12 T-bird since it was new, but I have a few issues with the vehicle.

I did the head gaskets when I bought the car, and I just finished rewiring the starter circuit, complete with new starter. Also, I installed a new power steering pump with Aeroquip stainless Teflon braided pressure hose and return line (If I EVER get hold of the crackhead who designed the PS system...) for a nice, sanitary hydraulic circuit.

My question is: Given the overall complexity and temperamental (Read: half-engineered) nature of the 3.8 SC V6, should I continue efforts on this engine, or do a heart transplant?

You know, a powertrain that doesn't require constant handholding, as I don't want to be under the car all winter. My easiest options are 4.6 SOHC, 4.6 DOHC, or a 5.0.

I've also been considering few hybridized drivetrains:

Ford 6.8 Triton V10 + T56
GM Vortec 4200 I6 + T45/56
Nissan RB26DETT 5-speed
Toyota 1JZ-GTE/2JZ-GTE 5-speed

No, I'm not joking.

Opinions?

I'm open to any and all suggestions.

Thanks.

Ditching the SC 3.8 is kinda taboo around here but I say go for it! Just as long as its a Ford based motor!

It's not an SC if you ditch the SC'd power plant.

You have already done the major issue with the motor, i.e. hg's. If you used a good modern gasket and hopefully studs, the engine should be trouble free for years.

Minor problems like the DIS burning up don't occur often and aren't that costly. All engines have their quirks.