PDA

View Full Version : Intermittent Sputter/Rough Idle



Raymondo
12-26-2008, 10:58 PM
I am experiencing an intermittent sputter/rough idle and no CEL. When it happens sometimes the rpms drop to 500 or so. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Raymondo

snowman93
12-26-2008, 11:29 PM
Does it happen when cold - hot ?

Stupid Canuck
12-27-2008, 12:48 AM
Probably cam sensor.

Tickler
12-27-2008, 04:09 AM
Try swapping out the maf, helped me pinpoint my problem.....

SCarSC
12-27-2008, 05:26 AM
Could it just be that you were working on it at some point and didnt reconnect all of the sensors, I forgot to plug in the MAP one time and it gave me the same problems. Maybe your IAC

jonathan

Raymondo
12-27-2008, 08:12 AM
Hi guys...thanks for the responses. It seems to occur when the car is warm/hot and I have not worked on it.

blwntbird94
12-27-2008, 05:19 PM
I just had that problem with mine and it was the cam sensor and the pcv valve wasn't opening if that helps any.

Raymondo
12-28-2008, 10:41 AM
Well I replaced the IAC and it did not solve the prob. Think I will look at the Cam Sensor next....unless there are any other suggestions.

slowpoke
12-28-2008, 01:44 PM
dont go replacing sensors first. first check to see if any codes are popping. if the cam sensor is bad or acting up you'll get a code. if no codes pop then im willing to bet its your EGR.

snowman93
01-04-2009, 11:56 PM
Yea even if there is no engine light you could have thrown a code. The eec stores old codes in it so there you go, but that sounds like a cam sensor to me. They act up when hot/ warm. I just fixed a friends car that was doing the same thing. Driving ok, then after warm, it would start stuttering and such. But head over to an autozone and get her checked out, then go from there.

Raymondo
01-05-2009, 01:39 AM
Yea even if there is no engine light you could have thrown a code. The eec stores old codes in it so there you go, but that sounds like a cam sensor to me. They act up when hot/ warm. I just fixed a friends car that was doing the same thing. Driving ok, then after warm, it would start stuttering and such. But head over to an autozone and get her checked out, then go from there.

Thanks! I would if my local AutoZone had someone there with a brain. But I guess I will do it anyways. :confused:

snowman93
01-05-2009, 05:34 AM
ha ha i hear that! But, hopefully you will get lucky and get the only guy that actually knows what a car is to help you out. Just ask him to run your codes. Keep it simple, so then he can't screw up. ha ha If there is a code and your not sure what it is. Just post it and ill look it up on alldata for you.:cool:

thunderkid84
01-05-2009, 08:35 AM
Thanks! I would if my local AutoZone had someone there with a brain. But I guess I will do it anyways. :confused:

good luck cuz i went there about 2 years ago and they said they only scan OBD-II cars now.

u can pick up a scanner for like $40.

snowman93
01-05-2009, 03:33 PM
Shoot i was afraid of that! Well yea i would suggest picking up a scanner then. It'll cost you about that much at a shop anyway so why not just have one and d.i.y.

snowman93
01-06-2009, 05:21 AM
If its not the cam sensor, it could be these following: EGR, O2 sensor, MAP sensor, or MAF. Those are the posibilities I have limited it down to. If you run a K&N type filter that takes oil spray on, the oil in those have been know to clog up the MAF's. I would try cleaning you mass airflow sensor first. It wouldn't hurt. Hell might gain a little HP in the process if its dirty. lol But That should be about you options there.

Raymondo
01-06-2009, 08:51 AM
Thanks Snowman! I will check those things....as well as see if I can get any codes pulled. I have cleaned the throttle body...was nasty....and I did not think the MAF was dirty but will give it a second look. I have spares for the O2 Sensors and the Cam Sensor so I may just change them. Question - does my '92 SC have an EGR valve and where is it, also what is a MAP sensor?

Raymondo

thunderkid84
01-06-2009, 10:26 AM
no u do not have an egr valve.

sc's do not have MAP sensors we have BAP(barometric air pressure) sensors.
it senses the pressure in the air and does something with the vacuum in the motor.....:rolleyes:

snowman93
01-06-2009, 05:55 PM
Hey no problem! Since you don't have an EGR, thats one less thing to worry about. The BPS sensor helps control air/fuel ratio, ignition timing adjustment, and (EGR flow control if eguipped with EGR) by using the atmospheric presure readings. So that would be a canidate. While in there might check the PCV since they are only a few bucks. Let me know how it goes.

Raymondo
01-06-2009, 11:26 PM
And where might this sensor be located and how would I determine if it is problematic?

snowman93
01-07-2009, 12:07 AM
Well without being able to hook it up to a data logger, im not sure. See if you can get those codes checked. That should help you pin-point the problem. In the picture it shows it as the MAP.