PDA

View Full Version : 145 speedo conversion, no odometer



Hock
02-16-2009, 12:14 PM
Ok, I did the 125 to 145mph conversion outlined in FAQ section and now my odometer will not work. Speedo works fine and is accurate. Any suggestions?

Roadhawg
02-16-2009, 12:55 PM
Most likely a bad odometer gear in the 145mph speedometer.

Hock
02-16-2009, 01:35 PM
Its the stock 125mph speedometer converted to a 145mph face and recalibrated to work with the 145 face.

I used the article from the FAQ section to do the coversion. The article was great, I think I may have messed something up but I can't figure it out.

Ddubb
02-16-2009, 02:59 PM
It worked before you did the face swap ? And what did you modify to make it a 145, replace the resistor on the circuit board ?? I think the article way is the wrong way to go about doing it.

If its not the Odometer gear, did you change the mileage at all ? That could cause a bind up if not put together properly. Otherwise you'll need a whole new speedo to swap the circuit board out again.

- Dan

Hock
02-16-2009, 08:30 PM
Didn't change the mileage, didn't need too.

Is there anyway to bench test these speedo's so I can check and see if the motor is working?

If not, what year speedo's will work? I have one from my 90 but all the electronics and motors are diffent than my 92.