PDA

View Full Version : Shift Light



kenewagner
03-13-2009, 11:49 AM
What does everyone use? Are a lot of you using one or is it more a luxury. I have a Lentec and like to manualy shift it at the track. Be nice to have something idiot proof and easy to work with:rolleyes:

Ken

ricardoa1
03-13-2009, 11:59 AM
I think I did a write up on my shift light.

I have a nifty LED that I hardwired to the leads of a Summit racing generic shift light.

I had some problems wiring it at first, A blown fuse had me chasing my tail.
But works well. It has an adjustable knob.

ricardoa1
03-13-2009, 12:02 PM
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=101035&highlight=shift+light

Dahoopd
03-13-2009, 01:39 PM
Just wondering how you get it to light at the RPM you want? Or does it just light up at a factory set RPM?

ricardoa1
03-13-2009, 01:55 PM
The shift light has a chip that takes RPM pulses from your PCM and with the adjustment knob you can turn it up to whatever shiftpoint you want. It started out as a normal tube style shift light I took it apart and tapped into the bulbs +/- leads to make the LED work. You need a LED thats rated for 12volts. The box next to it is the SNOw kit controller so dont pay attention to it.


http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/carshowandtrack015.jpg

Dahoopd
03-13-2009, 02:20 PM
Im lost! Its a shift light but you had to add an LED? So a basic shift light wont work? I have to buy a chip for that also? I am not trying to steal the thread, I would just like to hook one up also like the one Ira pointed out in your thread.

ricardoa1
03-13-2009, 02:31 PM
Ok, Ill take it slower. :p

I started out with a generic shiftlight from Summit.

http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=SUM%2DG2945&N=700+115&autoview=sku


Then I did not want that big ~~~ thing on the dashboard so I took off the cap and lense, that reveals the spot where the bulb goes, I took off the 194# bulb that came with it and with a couple of wires I taped into it to steal the current so the LED lights, I ran that LED on the steering column and concealed the shift light in the glove compartement. The picture I posted shows the back of it. Then all you have to wire are the +/- leads for the unit and tap into the RPM signal wire that comes out of the PCM.

David Neibert
03-13-2009, 02:33 PM
I'm told that I need to get a shift light in both my cars, but I don't really think it would help with my shifting. I prefer to keep one eye on the tach and anticipate when to make the shift by watching the needle on the tach. If I actually had a shift light I'd probably have to set it to flash at 5500 in order for me to make a 6400 rpm shift on the 1-2 shift.

David

super red91
03-13-2009, 04:26 PM
http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=ATM%2D5343&N=700+115&autoview=sku

Don't have any pics right now, I can take some though. Simple and easy.

Mike8675309
03-13-2009, 10:36 PM
I'm told that I need to get a shift light in both my cars, but I don't really think it would help with my shifting. I prefer to keep one eye on the tach and anticipate when to make the shift by watching the needle on the tach. If I actually had a shift light I'd probably have to set it to flash at 5500 in order for me to make a 6400 rpm shift on the 1-2 shift.

David

Shift light is on my list of items to get. I've found that while I think looking at the tach works, in reality what I'm used to is listening to my motor. Unfortunately, in some bracket events I end up next to a big block, or small block with open headers. Then I find out how difficult it is to figure out when to shift... at least for the 1 to 2 shift. By the 2 to 3, they are way past me. :rolleyes: