PDA

View Full Version : 13.90

scxr7
04-29-2009, 07:16 PM
This happened a little while ago. at my local track. (PBIR, formerly moroso). I finished swapping a 1994 m90 onto a stock motored 1996 cougar with 140k+ miles. I ran it at the track with a baseline mail order tune. got 14.20's..not bad. but as the night went on, I kept getting slower and slower and eventually pulled off a 17.40. I came to the conclusion that, "hmm...maybe my car is going slower for a reason..maybe there is a problem".. I took it to a local dyno tuner, and the baseline pull my A:F ratio was 19:1. making 180whp. It took a while to get the tune in order since the mail order tune was so far off. eventually he got the A:F down to 12:1 and made 252whp.

After feeling all cocky and confident, I took it to the track and ripped off a 13.90 @ 97mph. I made the mistake of icing down my supercharger (I was a newb and didn't think that it could cause the case to shrink and cause the rotors to chew up the case) The rest of the night was basically all high 13's or 14.0-14.1.

Later that week, I guess piston and rod #3 got into an argument and went their seperate ways. with nowhere to go. the piston went into the head, and the rod went into the oil pan. My transmission was having a b*tch fit also, she ended up throwing up red stuff all over the place and locked up.

and to top it off. I pushed the car into a ditch on the side of the highway..by accident. literally.

Oh yes, I'll try to keep my revs down below 7k on a stock bottom end.. My tuner thought 7k would be a good idea to set the rev limiter at. ohhh welll.

Time to come back stronger and faster.

thunderkid84
04-29-2009, 08:39 PM
good time. what was all done to it when you hit 13.9 ?

89tird
04-29-2009, 10:05 PM
good times, sorry about the loss..nice to see another south florida member..:cool:

superdadsc
04-29-2009, 10:38 PM