ABS yellow light came on a lot today......

tbirdsc35th

I am sorry this is a repeat question from a while ago. I am no ABS expert by any means and many of you have been there before. Today I was running around town most of the afternoon. For long stretches of time, the yellow ABS light would come on and remain on for most of the time I was on the road. It didn't do it ALL the time but very often. Sometimes it just went out by itself. It always went off if I started the car and just sat there. Braking was normal and not a problem. Fluid is fine. The shop manual mentions as possible problems:
- main power relay
- fluid level indicator switch
- pressure warning switch
- actuator or actuator ground strap (is this the accumulator?)
- wheel sensors
- solenoid valve block unit
- pump motor relay

I am assuming that under normal conditions, when the ABS kicks in the yellow light comes on. I don't hear a pump going under the hood so I tend to discount that avenue. Has anyone encountered any other problems that I can add to the list of checking? I am so strapped for time lately, I was just hoping to get input from you guys who have been there to help me check these things out.

Thanks and sorry for the long post.

Have a great week and my best to all.

Last edited:
Actuator ground strap is a ground cable that bolts onto the front of the brake booster unit. Make sure it's not corroded or broken.

Chances are, if your braking seems normal, your pump is working okay.

I'd guess a faulty wheel sensor. Have a peek and see if you picked up a stick and it mangled the wires going to one of the encoder rings (wheel speed sensors)

Lift up on your parking brake. Does the red BRAKE light come on? If not, maybe the bulb is burnt out and the car is trying to tell you something else but can't.