PDA

View Full Version : Radio connections



parnek
09-26-2002, 10:52 AM
I am wondering whether I can remove the factory CD player and use the factory deck as a radio/cassette. It seems that when I disconnect the CD player the radio does not have any sound coming out; but all other functions work, just no sound!
Help

TBirdDriver
09-26-2002, 04:36 PM
You have to get a jumper to put in the slot where the CD player wire harness was plugged into the back of the radio.
It's a short rectanglar thing that just plugs in where the other plug was.
I don't know what it's called or even where to get one, but someone here might know.
(I have one on mine but I'm using it until I get my CD player working again.)

TBirdDriver
09-27-2002, 08:10 AM
I took a look at the jumper on my radio last night.
You could make your own.

The six pin connector on the back of the radio looks like this:

1 4
2 5
3 6

The jumper connects pin numbers 1 with number 2
and pin numbers 4 with 5
I'm sure you could go to radio shack and buy a round fitting that would fit over these pins. Then you could make up your own jumpers and connect them like above.
Let me know how this works out.

parnek
09-27-2002, 09:45 AM
I appreciate that you pulled your radio to have a look. I can make the jumper easily and will give it a try this afternoon and let you know how it works.
Thanks again..Ken