PDA

View Full Version : anybody supercharge a n/a 3.8?

blackXR7
08-23-2009, 07:38 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie to ford s/c 3.8, but I've got a couple supercharged 3.8 grand prix's. It's very common to take a n/a buick 3.8 and use the heads/intake/supercharger from a supercharged motor for greater compression. When I spun a rod bearing on my gtp I did this, and I've had no problems. As long as you can scan for kr, there's no problem. I use meth injection for insurance. Can you do this with the fords as well?

sinhumane
08-23-2009, 07:44 PM
i dont see why not. remember that the na 3.8 has a 10:1 compression.. so you might want to keep boost low and the air charge cold and dense. with meth, i could see you making a solid 250 on that engine, and shoulld hold up just fine.

dont listen to the naysayers that think that boost is the ender of engines. poor tuning is the ender.

yes, an sc block is much stronger, but an na wiht a cast crank and rods, with he pistons should hole up fine. the mustang guys do it all the time. :)

truth be told, if you have some skill, pick up an sc shortblock, install it with your na goodies, custom headers and a turbo.

but thats just me ;)

RedSC93
08-23-2009, 07:54 PM
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9577

blackXR7
08-23-2009, 08:34 PM
good info in that thread. however, if anyone melts their pistons, they weren't scanning for kr. But, our grand prix's are OBDII, so it's easy to monitor these things. Maybe with OBDI it's not as simple? I just picked up a 90 XR7/5 spd. real cheap because supposedly it's got a blown head gasket. I'm planning on at least one cracked head. If it's worse, I'm just exploring the options as far as engine replacement goes. Keep the info coming!

Mike8675309
08-23-2009, 09:08 PM
remember that the na 3.8 has a 10:1 compression..