PDA

View Full Version : Coolant level sensor ?



dbd
09-24-2009, 06:11 PM
Anyone have an idea of what I can put in the coolant level sensor head? I have a couple of them that work fine, but the black goop has become soft over the years.

Thanks
dbd

txsc
09-25-2009, 09:27 PM
I'd be interested in knowing that as well. I was pondering the exact same question the other day. Off the top of my head, how about JB Weld, or some similar two-component material that hardens? Ideas??

JD

thunderkid84
09-25-2009, 10:33 PM
are the wires coming out of the head ?

is that what u guys are talking about ?

Tony8470
09-26-2009, 01:07 AM
It's an epoxy called "potting" in industry. I'd start there. There are many different kinds of epoxys so your gonna want one that's resistant to the coolant.

ThunderChecken
12-22-2010, 05:52 PM
Can a new one of these be had ?

chickenman
12-22-2010, 06:53 PM
Last time I checked, they were available from Advance Auto, but they were $130.

ThunderChecken
12-22-2010, 10:24 PM
Last time I checked, they were available from Advance Auto, but they were $130.

Good grief ! They can keep it lol Thank you for the reply :)

Drummer
12-23-2010, 09:53 AM
Here's what I did. Went to a Pull-U-Part and went through every Thunderbird on the lot and pulled them out. Think I ended up with 3 at a buck a piece. Went home and tried them all. 2 worked 1 didn't. I now have a spare. Whenever I go parts hunting I will grab every VMM and Coolant sensor I see just because.

ThunderChecken
12-23-2010, 09:59 AM
Yep same here will be hitting the bone yards soon , I grab many parts as well when I fine them :cool: