PDA

View Full Version : Most important gauges



nickleman60
10-11-2009, 06:05 PM
What 3 gauges would you consider the most important? I'm getting ready to install a 3-gauge pod and I undecided on which ones. I think more than 3 are needed but no where to install them. Here's my list of possibilities:

AFR with wideband sensor in longtube collector
Boost
Oil pressure
Water temp.

If I use a boost gauge in the pod can I change the one in the cluster to a volt gauge from a n/a bird?

Dirtyd0g
10-11-2009, 06:10 PM
IMO coolant temp is by far the most important. The factory dummy light works for the oil pressure or you can mod it to actually function. AFR and boost would probably be my choices after that. Personally I am all about stock appearance so I don't want to many gauges on my DD. I want one of the digital read all gauges, but they are expensive. That should be able to tell you everything but boost.
Alan

Payton
10-11-2009, 06:10 PM
I would go with AFR, oil and water. Might as well consider trans.temp:rolleyes:

artic94sc
10-11-2009, 06:30 PM
where are you going to get the pillar from?

Mercutio
10-11-2009, 06:34 PM
If I use a boost gauge in the pod can I change the one in the cluster to a volt gauge from a n/a bird?

Yes. I have done exactly that. You will need the black gauge cluster surround from the LX as well since it is different and you'll need to trim some of the plastic tabs on the back but the gauge itself is a plug & play swap.

92sclikenew
10-11-2009, 06:42 PM
i would want oil pressure, coolant temp,boost. i heard a/f gauges dont do much.....

Payton
10-11-2009, 06:47 PM
i would want oil pressure, coolant temp,boost. i heard a/f gauges dont do much.....

If you go with narrow band than you wouldn't get much info. Now, wideband is a totally different game.

92sclikenew
10-11-2009, 06:56 PM
If you go with narrow band than you wouldn't get much info. Now, wideband is a totally different game.

yea im not sure on ether:rolleyes: owell figure wideband will tell you alot more:o

fturner
10-11-2009, 07:03 PM
If you are running an "expensive" motor.... and care about it, you should be running AFR wideband, oil pressure and temperature. Everything else is secondary so to speak.

nickleman60
10-11-2009, 07:14 PM
where are you going to get the pillar from?

A sc buddy of mine had one "sitting" around...........:D

nickleman60
10-11-2009, 07:17 PM
If you are running an "expensive" motor.... and care about it, you should be running AFR wideband, oil pressure and temperature. Everything else is secondary so to speak.

Frazier, I'm in that "expensive" category. Your 3 make good sense. I've been looking at this AFR kit.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170389420060&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWAX%3AIT

92sclikenew
10-11-2009, 07:21 PM
Frazier, I'm in that "expensive" category. Your 3 make good sense. I've been looking at this AFR kit.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170389420060&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWAX%3AIT

looks like a good investment. tho i dont really care for the gauge face:o

nickleman60
10-11-2009, 07:36 PM
i dont really care for the gauge face:o

I'm not a fan of digital faces so It might be that one or another style that Innovate has and will match up with the other 2 gauges in the pod.

90SCPARacer
10-11-2009, 07:39 PM
Yes. I have done exactly that. You will need the black gauge cluster surround from the LX as well since it is different and you'll need to trim some of the plastic tabs on the back but the gauge itself is a plug & play swap.
will it just be a plug in and work thing? or do you have to run wires to get voltage readings

perm102
10-11-2009, 08:45 PM
For me, I have a water temp and oil pressure gauge in the 2 pod. I also have an Innovate wideband in the dash. I personally like the digital readout for just the afr because you can instantly see what it is reading without actually having to look right at it. My other gauges are analog.

Mercutio
10-11-2009, 08:51 PM
will it just be a plug in and work thing? or do you have to run wires to get voltage readings

Just insert it in place of the boost gauge. That's it.

Mike8675309
10-11-2009, 11:30 PM
AFR wideband, oil pressure and temperature. Everything else is secondary so to speak.

oil temp, water temp?

95_XR7
10-12-2009, 12:42 AM
Frazier, I'm in that "expensive" category. Your 3 make good sense. I've been looking at this AFR kit.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170389420060&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWAX%3AIT

Sweet kit. Only difference is I'm running a different gauge with it. It's there black digital blue led gauge with recall function etc.
If you get that, might as well get the lma3 too.

David Neibert
10-12-2009, 11:30 AM
I use my dual gauge pod to monitor fuel pressure and trans temp. If I had a third I'd use it for oil pressure.

David

Kurt K
10-12-2009, 12:12 PM
I use my dual gauge pod to monitor fuel pressure and trans temp. If I had a third I'd use it for oil pressure.

DavidAnd those are the 3 gauges that are in my triple gauge pod.

WhiteThunder
10-12-2009, 04:17 PM
Volts, temp, oil pressure, boost/vacuum


eddie
'90 5-speed SC
'97 LX sport

mnurminen
10-13-2009, 09:11 AM
This might be a dumb question, but is there such a triple gauge pod that is a direct fit for a 89' SC?

I'm looking at the SCP site for a dual-gauge pod, and I was wondering if there was an easy way to squeeze another gauge into the cockpit :rolleyes:

rzimmerl
10-13-2009, 09:23 AM
www.gaugepods.com has a 3 pod A pillar for the 89-93

http://www.gaugepods.com/ford.html

nickleman60
10-13-2009, 10:55 AM
I've decided to go with oil pressure, water temp. and an AFR wideband gauge/sensor.

Toms-SC
10-25-2009, 03:13 PM
For those with the XD-16 gage, have you been able to monitor your oil pressure?

S_Mazza
04-09-2010, 02:31 PM
Volts, temp, oil pressure, boost/vacuum


eddie
'90 5-speed SC
'97 LX sport

Hello,

I like the install you have shown. I assume that those are 2-1/16" gauges, correct? How tight was the fit when installing them in the instrument cluster surround (next to the radio and so forth)? Did you have to cut anything behind the panel for clearance?

Ira R.
04-09-2010, 03:28 PM
I have 5 that I monitor. Oil pressure, water temp and boost (w/ memory) in the pod. A/F on the panel in front of the shifter and snow kit activation light in the dash (both in line of site with the shift light).

Ira

CaifanSC
04-09-2010, 04:51 PM
A/F on the panel in front of the shifter

Is this on the actual shifter console top piece or in the DIN space where the Info Center is supposed to be?

Ira R.
04-10-2010, 11:16 AM
Is this on the actual shifter console top piece or in the DIN space where the Info Center is supposed to be?


http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n161/irar_6971081/DASH.jpg