Another FAN POSTING???

REILLY

COME ON!!! Before anyone says anything. I'm here on this site b/c my nephew got a pretty good deal on a 1990 sc. He hasn't gotten his licence yet but will in november. I have plenty of experience building cars, but not this new. I told him that I would help him get things sorted out.... and now the car is at my house.

the Car:

1990 White , 82K miles, automatic. runs pretty well. problems include the fan not coming on. the radio wires all cut and after it heats up the thing bucks under WOT.

the parts car: 1994 SC 75K miles, hit in the drivers door and quarter... Totaled. lots of good usable parts but I'm finding that that lots of things were changed in 94year.

about the FAN:

did a search and read about two hours of posts regarding the cooling fan issues. here is where we are at.

originally switched fan from the 94 thinking that there might be a thermal switch on the fan housing or motor yhay went bad.

after reading found that there is module behind the headlight. I had two extras one from a 94 and another from an 89 swapped out twice and no auto fan.

topped off the fluid in the radiator and burped it. now when I pull the ECT sensor the fan comes on but at no other time will it come on, I used a temp gauge and the car is getting past 212 degrees and the fans do not come on. no fan either when the ac is on.

I have no check engine light on the car either. it will come on when I pull the ect but not on normally.

Changed out the ECT sensor still no auto fan.
all fuses and relays seem to be good so I'm not sure where to go next

Thank for your help ..Looks like a great site for this car.

1. The low speed fan does not come on until 220F, with the high speed kicking in at 228F.

2. The a/c system has to be working in order for the fan to kick on when its running, otherwise it won't turn on. If the compressor is working, then I would suggest replacing the IRCM... mentioned below.