Supercharger, Power Steering or ...

chargerrich

So I have been driving my 90 SC that is the middle of a restore to work about 2 days a week (100 mile round trip) and the car has been running flawlessly until yesterday when upon exiting the highway I hear somewhat low pitch growl/whine combo that instantly reminded me of a power steering pump/belt problem.

That would have been my diagnosis if not for some other symptoms:

1. This growl/whine (for lack of a better word) increases when throttling in park even when the steering is not touched.

2. It is not as pronounced at higher RMPs while driving (say on the highway)

I am a neophyte mechanic (but learning) but I have heard this sound before in many cars, so I am doubting its the supercharger (which was rebuilt 3 months ago).

So am I on target for power steering? Could it also be a belt (even not PS related)?

What are the symptoms of a bad harmonic balancer?

What is the best way to dianose, Supercharger, belts and power steering to find my problem?

Thanks guys!

You can remove the supercharger belt to see if it is the cause. Car will run just fine without it.