PDA

View Full Version : could use an opinion or two

TwoToneThunder
11-01-2009, 05:33 PM
this is my rant about my dodge dakota but id like your opinions

Heres my situation, i replaced my clutch, pressure plate, flywheel, throw out bearing, pilot bearing with a kit from advance auto parts in march of 2008

ive put around 15k miles on the setup without any issues until now

i drove my truck from detroit down to orlando florida yesterday and during the drive i could hear something getting louder and louder as i was driving

im 99% sure the throw out bearing is toast after 15k? the original lasted 100! and was still good when i did the clutch

i did all the work myself, i have a tech school degree and ive worked at ford dealers and a freightliner dealer so i know what im doing

the clutch i bought came with a lifetime guarentee

is there anything i can do or a way i can approach this when i go into the store tomarrow to complain?

im 1200 miles away from home and one of their lifetime guarenteed parts has failed but i can remove the trans here in a parking lot without any mechanics tools and its going to cost me a fortune to take it somewhere to fix something that should already have been fixed id like for them to take care of it

anyone have any imput on the situation?

92sclikenew
11-01-2009, 07:17 PM
jim try to talk to a district manager tell them that and you want them to pay for the repairs since this inst your fault.. tho are you certified they could fight over that.. tho you still might not get anything but its worth a try...

is that rattle i heard that you couldnt figure out?

also remember new or old part can fail it dont matter!

this is my rant about my dodge dakota but id like your opinions

Heres my situation, i replaced my clutch, pressure plate, flywheel, throw out bearing, pilot bearing with a kit from advance auto parts in march of 2008

ive put around 15k miles on the setup without any issues until now