How much power on just 93octane?

ricardoa1

What is ideal boost for a big headed big cammed and all supporting hardware and a heaton while only using 93 octane?

And what is the max HP expected from it.

What is ideal boost for a big headed big cammed and all supporting hardware and a heaton while only using 93 octane?

I'm no expert by far but I'd say 20lbs of boost and 390 rwhp on 93 octane.

When a local tuner tried to tune my car last year, with my current mods he could only get 320 rwhp, that run had 19.5 lbs of boost. He only put 20 degrees of timing in it, he didn't go any higher, and didn't turn off the knock sensor, he was basically stumped. From what we know now my knock sensor should have been turned off and a few more degrees of timing tried to see what the results would be. So if I had 20 degrees of timing and the knock sensor was pulling 8 degrees then it looks like I was pulling 320 with 12 or so degrees of timing, if that sounds possible. I'm now getting ready to install my new, much bigger cam, .520/.520 lift to .588/.600 lift and get retuned except this time I have some info I gathered from DD to relay to the local tuner to help him get the most out of engine. In short I'm hoping for my numbers to be around 375 rwhp on motor and 450 rwhp with nitrous on 93 octane gas.

Last edited:
I'm no expert by far but I'd say 20lbs of boost and 390 rwhp on 93 octane.