Blew a headgasket, need some advice (kinda long)

kid vishus

Hey folks, I need some advice. I spent a couple of hours pouring over old threads gathering as much info as I can, but am still stumped on a few things. Let me start off saying, I am not a novice, but definitely not a pro mechanic either. I am 40 yrs old and have been shade tree wrenching for 20+ yrs now and have built more than one drag car that has run low 10s-high 9's with an NA smallblock. I also worked for a couple of years in a GM shop that specialized in hi performace late model cars. So I have a decent idea of how things work, but good lord there is a lot of ~stuff~ crammed into this engine bay.
Anyways, enough background....

A month ago or so on the way home from work cruising at a blistering 53 mph, the car started running rough, the temp gauge shot to ~H~, and the heater started blowing cold air. When I pulled over the exhaust had that well known sickly sweet smell to it along with massive amounts of steam. Given the car (all stock '93 SC, auto trans) has 180+K miles on it and is all original, I'm not terribly surprised a head gasket let go. I had it towed home, and after it sat for a few days, I fired it up (missed a little but started and ran better than expected) and pulled it under I do not have a garage so I have to wait for nice (non raining or excessively windy days) to work on the car, so I havent gotten very far so far. I normally would have paid someone to do this job, but I am betting it wouldnt be cheap, and quite honestly I just cant afford that kind of expense right now so I have decided to tackle it on my own. That may have been a mistake. :(