PDA

View Full Version : -6AN Fuelrail Upgrade



Toms-SC
03-25-2010, 01:53 PM
Hey all,

Has anybody successfully upgraded their fuel rails to 6AN? You can buy the material for fairly cheap, $30~ for 3 feet.

Thanks

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Dash-6-Fuel-Rail-Extrusion-custom-fuelrail_W0QQitemZ200213904248QQcmdZViewItemQQptZM otors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories?hash=item2e9dadb b78

Roadhawg
03-25-2010, 02:06 PM
I thought about it, but the step drill bit is exspensive.

http://rossmachineracing.com/injectortool.html

rzimmerl
03-25-2010, 02:16 PM
I believe there are few people with billet rails. Would be just a matter of getting the correct injector angles drilled into the rail with the special tool.

Another question is what kind of fitting to use on the stock fuel pump hat to adapt to AN?

David Neibert
03-25-2010, 05:31 PM
Please keep in mind that Chris Wise made over 500 rwhp thru a non locking C4 on a stingy dyno at the Shootout with stock rail and stock fuel lines.

David

ricardoa1
03-25-2010, 05:41 PM
Please keep in mind that Chris Wise made over 500 rwhp thru a non locking C4 on a stingy dyno at the Shootout with stock rail and stock fuel lines.

David

Does that car utilize more fuel then lets say your car David? SC sucks up HP to make HP. You brought it up in the other thread.

Toms-SC
03-25-2010, 06:31 PM
I believe there are few people with billet rails.

Can anybody with this speak up please?

Toms-SC
03-25-2010, 06:34 PM
I thought about it, but the step drill bit is exspensive.

http://rossmachineracing.com/injectortool.html

Its expensive but you don't do it as a one off. Make 10 for the rest of the community to enjoy.

David Neibert
03-25-2010, 11:50 PM
Does that car utilize more fuel then lets say your car David? SC sucks up HP to make HP. You brought it up in the other thread.

Probably has more capacity, because it has bigger injectors (96# low imp I think) and doesn't need to operate at such high pressures. With the turbo the biggest advantage he enjoys is not having to pull power off the crank to spin the blower. That said, it's still not a free lunch because the exhaust restrictions on a turbo motor also cause a reduction in power, but usually it's only about 30% of what a blower consumes.

David

PS: Dave Dalke tuned the car, so he can probably provide the fuel consumption info.

David Neibert
03-26-2010, 12:17 AM
Can anybody with this speak up please?

Tom,

Here's a picture of the ones on my car.

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=18882&d=1141909912

They were supplied by a member named Jerrod...here is another style he made.

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b119/cougarsc/DSCF0079Large.jpg

This is his user profile.

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/member.php?u=388

David

XxSlowpokexX
03-26-2010, 02:11 AM
I say go big or go home..#8!!!! I have the same ones David has..Very nice

90blkbrd
03-26-2010, 12:06 PM
$30 for 3 feet of rail. I would think that would be enough to build both rails for a SC.

David. What did your fuel rail cost you when you got yours?


30% of what a blower consumes.


If a M90 is ~70-100 hp that would put a turbo at ~21-30. I really thought a turbo's parasitic loss was negligible, as in less than 10.

David Neibert
03-26-2010, 01:06 PM
$30 for 3 feet of rail. I would think that would be enough to build both rails for a SC.

David. What did your fuel rail cost you when you got yours?




If a M90 is ~70-100 hp that would put a turbo at ~21-30. I really thought a turbo's parasitic loss was negligible, as in less than 10.

I don't remember the exact price, but I think it was around $150-200 for the set.


David

frdlvr30
03-26-2010, 01:50 PM
Im sure it requires atleast 20% more fuel to make the same amount of horse power as a turbo car, due to the parasidic drag of the blower. I doubt that you guy are maxing the factory rail out yet. But, for a few hundred bucks the added insurance is surely worth it...IMHO. That being said, have any of you ever had just the engine dyno'd? Is that a possibility or do those with engine dyno's only do so for the ones that they build?

Toms-SC
03-26-2010, 02:19 PM
David,

Is your system still return or is it now return-less?

David Neibert
03-26-2010, 02:23 PM
David,

Is your system still return or is it now return-less?

Yes, it's a return style system. I can't imagine why anyone would want a returnless system.

David

BLOWN38
03-27-2010, 12:33 AM
Yes, it's a return style system. I can't imagine why anyone would want a returnless system.

David

To keep the fuel temps down at part throttle and keep the emission's police happy, silly.:rolleyes::p J/K

XxSlowpokexX
03-27-2010, 03:26 AM
To keep the fuel temps down at part throttle and keep the emission's police happy, silly.:rolleyes::p J/K

Actually not so silly!:eek:

XR7 Dave
03-27-2010, 08:44 AM
Hey all,

Has anybody successfully upgraded their fuel rails to 6AN? You realize of course that the stock lines are -6 already, right?

91BLOWNBIRD
03-27-2010, 11:25 AM
everyone has probably already seen these but thought I would throw down a pic

Mike8675309
03-27-2010, 05:42 PM
...
They were supplied by a member named Jerrod...here is another style he made.



David,

I'm glad you got some. I paid him $175 for a set of billet rails and he disappeared off the face of the earth and I never got the rails.:rolleyes:
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=96414

After seeing what folks have achieved with stock rails, I'm not sure there is a good reason to change unless there is a fitment issue due to bigger blower or something. I haven't seen Dave Dalke yet selling them for the folks buying 80's. If he found the stock rail is good enough for the 80lb/hr injectors, then I'm sure it's enough for anything else.

Since I didn't get custom rails, I had my stock rail modified for the fitment issue I had.
http://www.motortopia.com/files/cars/album_2009_work/4a946f091fd07/fuelrailoverheadjpg_Thumbnail1.jpg