PDA

View Full Version : One step closer.



ricardoa1
04-02-2010, 05:50 PM
One step closer to automotive bliss....:D


Atari JOY STICK IS IN.

:p


http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02860.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02859.jpg

Jovez
04-02-2010, 07:37 PM
what did you do to shorten it?

SCarSC
04-02-2010, 08:52 PM
b&m I would guess...good luck finding one now though...i think the group buy is well over....probably worth a good bit if you had one, i managed to get one. Its pretty freakin sweet

Tim Groth
04-02-2010, 09:27 PM
Car was orginally an AOD - he did the swap...

Looks good, can't wait to see it in person! Hopefully I don't have to push this one to its showing spot ;):D.

-Tim

ricardoa1
04-02-2010, 10:18 PM
Yes I got lucky and picked up a used B&M ripper shifter. Alot of folks dont like it for its feel but its been good to me in the blue car. If I was not fortunate to get one I would have put in my rebuilt one.

I have the liquid filled trans mount and stock rubber IRS bushings. I want the car to feel stock when putt putts around.

91BLOWNBIRD
04-02-2010, 10:44 PM
my stock shifter broke like a month after I bought my sc and I put a B&M in and I love it

ricardoa1
04-03-2010, 11:33 PM
Some more progress. I think DD should start writing that chip..:D


Everything hurts though...


http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02864.jpg

BRIAN WALTER
04-04-2010, 03:26 AM
Ricardo, good to see my shifter went to an excellent home!

ricardoa1
04-04-2010, 10:17 AM
Ricardo, good to see my shifter went to an excellent home!

Yes it will be put to good use.


On another note I tried cranking the the motor over but it seems I does not even click. I think I did something wrong when I installed the clutch switch. Not sure. I hear the relay under the dash go when I turn the key. Another relay clicks when I push the brake. But the cluch does nothing when I press it or release. :rolleyes:

I still got to finish up some things then I can start cleaning my grease stains from some of the parts.

The stock looking engine should surprise a few. "yeah its all stock under there, Only a CAI"

BRIAN WALTER
04-04-2010, 10:41 AM
so you wired in the clutch switch completely?
I know if you didnt wire anything for the clutch switch, you could just push the brake pedal to start it.
how did you wire the the 2 large red wires on the switch?

sinhumane
04-04-2010, 11:05 AM
try depressing both the brake and clutch while starting it.

btw, i see the m112 hybrid found a new home :) she's coming along nicely rico.

ricardoa1
04-04-2010, 06:04 PM
so you wired in the clutch switch completely?
I know if you didnt wire anything for the clutch switch, you could just push the brake pedal to start it.
how did you wire the the 2 large red wires on the switch?


Those go to the push to start relay. I forget how I did it I closed up the dash so I have to go back in there. Ill start by jumping the connection first.


I tried the brake and clutch simultaniously and even made sure the alarm was not killing the car. But still no start. Ill have to dig in further. it just sucks I have to go back to something I worked on. SC shuffle syndrome.


M112 has found a new home. :D

neverfastenough
04-04-2010, 07:48 PM
That red wire on the passenger side floor should be tucked away:p

ricardoa1
04-05-2010, 01:26 AM
That wire gets plugged into the flux capacitor, I have not installed it yet. Its the only way it will make 350 to the wheels. ;)


Ok I think I am done putting the stuff in the engine. needs some clamps for the CAI and a coolant rervoir as I stole it to put it in the blue car for the SNOW kit. :rolleyes: Totally forgot I still need one.


Ok let get some the critics back in here does the FMIC jerry gettofied thingiemaggie look that bad still, now that all the stuff is in there. So? :D

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02868.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02867.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02866.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02865.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02870.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02871.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02869.jpg




I also cut a coil off the front springs while the engine was out. It went lower then I expected




http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/DSC02872.jpg

ricardoa1
04-05-2010, 01:32 AM
Mike Menke, whats the hold up with just installing a supercharger? :p

I got a trans, engine and a supercharger in my car and you still fiddling with a supercharger swap. Dont make excuses. :p JK

David Neibert
04-05-2010, 11:40 AM
Ricardo,

The FMIC plumbing for the upper IC tube looks fine. The only thing that looks WRONG, is having that PCV breather tube for the driver's side valve cover running over the top of the supercharger. You need to redo it so it runs under the blower snout. If you can't get that hard nylon stuff to lay right, just use some black 3/8" ID fuel hose.

David

ricardoa1
04-05-2010, 11:52 AM
Ricardo,

The FMIC plumbing for the upper IC tube looks fine. The only thing that looks WRONG, is having that PCV breather tube for the driver's side valve cover running over the top of the supercharger. You need to redo it so it runs under the blower snout. If you can't get that hard nylon stuff to lay right, just use some black 3/8" ID fuel hose.

David


Is there a mechanical reason or only for asthetics? i was going for the shelby look....:D The supercharger is much longer so I cannot make it fit under I tried. Not sure how I did it on my 94 when I had that in there.

Notice the hose over the SC..


http://image.mustang50magazine.com/f/19321725+w750+st0/m5lp_0908_08_z+2010_shelby_gt500+engine.jpg

David Neibert
04-05-2010, 12:10 PM
Is there a mechanical reason or only for asthetics?

No mechanical reason, it just looks wrong.

David

Ira R.
04-05-2010, 12:55 PM
No mechanical reason, it just looks wrong.

David

Not if you want it to look like a.... like a.... Mustang ;) :eek:

Ira

XxSlowpokexX
04-05-2010, 04:18 PM
I use a peice of fuel line instead of the plastic tube and ran it under. Also if you plan on running it over why not get some SS or aluminum hard line and bend it nicely connecting it to rubber at either end. Would look nice if done right

Ddubb
04-05-2010, 04:36 PM
Not if you want it to look like a.... like a.... Mustang ;) :eek:

Ira

Ugh .. thats terrible. :eek:

I dont think it makes a difference - I didnt notice it with your plug wires are already going across the top of the SC.

- Dan

ricardoa1
04-06-2010, 12:06 AM
My junk starts....:D I messed up the reinstalling of the FORD/CODE alram system when i was cleaning up the wires. I had the ignition wires reversed going to the module. I also noticed my lock and unlock was not working I left those unplugged too. :cool:

All seem to work. I only ran the car for a few seconds since exhaust is open after the cats. Very loud at 11pm.


I stole the coolant bottle back for this car.



I put in 1/3 coolant 2/3 water ratio. Will I have a problem in the winter time?

Mike8675309
04-06-2010, 09:58 AM
I put in 1/3 coolant 2/3 water ratio. Will I have a problem in the winter time?

http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/ethylene-glycol-d_146.html
At a ratio of 1/3 antifreeze your freeze protection only goes to about 2 degrees F. You also dropped your max boiling point to 220 degrees f.

A 50/50 mix has a freezing point of -36f and boiling point of 225f.

Note the boiling points are actually higher in your cooling system due to the pressure the stock cooling system runs at.

ricardoa1
04-06-2010, 10:06 AM
http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/ethylene-glycol-d_146.html
At a ratio of 1/3 antifreeze your freeze protection only goes to about 2 degrees F. You also dropped your max boiling point to 220 degrees f.

A 50/50 mix has a freezing point of -36f and boiling point of 225f.

Note the boiling points are actually higher in your cooling system due to the pressure the stock cooling system runs at.

Thanks Mike sounds like come winter I should add more straight coolant. Im sure the water will evaporate from the bottle by that time. Just wanted to make sure so i dont have frozen lines.

ricardoa1
04-06-2010, 11:59 AM
I took some vids this morning, since I seem to be a sharing whore. :rolleyes:


Then the car was not getting to temps. I forgot to burp the system. I made a mess but got the temps to go up and have the fans come on. So I can say cooling system works. :D

The full size battery does not seem to be holding a full charge so I put in my miata battery temporarily.

<embed width="600" height="361" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowFullscreen="true" allowNetworking="all" wmode="transparent" src="http://static.photobucket.com/player.swf?file=http://vid68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/MOV02874.flv">

<embed width="600" height="361" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowFullscreen="true" allowNetworking="all" wmode="transparent" src="http://static.photobucket.com/player.swf?file=http://vid68.photobucket.com/albums/i10/ricardoa1/MOV02873.flv">

David Neibert
04-06-2010, 12:51 PM
Maybe it just the video, but that thing sounds even louder than my 91 does :eek: What are the details on the exhaust system ?

David

ricardoa1
04-06-2010, 12:53 PM
Maybe it just the video, but that thing sounds even louder than my 91 does :eek: What are the details on the exhaust system ?

David

Down pipes to cats to dumps right after the cross member. VERY LOUD. The camera had a hard time suppresing the noise.