PDA

View Full Version : 6G Alternator



sts70004
04-02-2010, 11:45 PM
Is this the alternator that is an upgrade for ours?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=360248832141&viewitem=&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26its%3DI%26otn%3D1&category=33573#ht_1629wt_810

Regul8r
04-02-2010, 11:51 PM
Upgrade?

what is the UPGRADE from ours to this besides the amps?
someone explain the benefits of using this instead of stock?

XxSlowpokexX
04-03-2010, 12:07 AM
yup thats the one. I have it

sts70004
04-03-2010, 12:16 AM
Upgrade?

what is the UPGRADE from ours to this besides the amps?
someone explain the benefits of using this instead of stock?

The benefits are it being significantly cheaper than the stock replacement for those who have their alternator going out. Plus more amps, it has a lighter rotating mass, and runs cooler. What more could you want :-D

Regul8r
04-03-2010, 12:19 AM
The benefits are it being significantly cheaper than the stock replacement for those who have their alternator going out. Plus more amps, it has a lighter rotating mass, and runs cooler. What more could you want :-D

Thanks for the info!

sts70004
04-03-2010, 12:28 AM
No problem! Autozone had the 110 amp alternator for like $150 and the ebay one plus shipping is $105

bowez
04-03-2010, 09:17 AM
To my understanding a 5.0 and a SC alternator are slightly different. So how much rewiring is required to get the connectors to work?

sts70004
04-05-2010, 10:18 PM
To my understanding a 5.0 and a SC alternator are slightly different. So how much rewiring is required to get the connectors to work?

well on mine they're both two wire connections. I am however having an issue with pulleys... the stock pulley freezes up on the case of the alternator. Apparently this is not an issue with underdrive pulleys. Theres a lip around the bearing, could this be ground down?

sts70004
04-06-2010, 12:23 AM
Well I ended up just cutting the lip off the alternator case and it works fine, clears the pulley now. With underdrive pulleys I think it'd work fine.

slowpoke
04-06-2010, 02:17 PM
sorry to break into your thread here, would the 200amp alt for the mustang fit our cars??? the 4rth alt over on the top at the link.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...#ht_1629wt_810

if so then that will cure my massive demand for the stereo and can still use underdrive pulleys.

sts70004
04-06-2010, 02:44 PM
Your link didn't work, but as longs as the alternator is not any deeper than the stock one, and has a two mounting holes, I would think it would work. Don't quote me on this. :p I looked up some 200 amp alternators for mustangs and they look like they'd fit.

Mike8675309
04-06-2010, 03:21 PM
6g alternator discussion with pictures was in this thread:
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107109&highlight=alternator+pulley

bowez
04-06-2010, 10:00 PM
Our belt can't turn the full load of a 200Amp alternator so it is a waste of money.