Help I Think My Mechanic Is Try To Rip Me Off!

brokeSC

HELP!!
Ok i have 2 questions i'm kind of new to the SC thing but not really i've had my car for 3 years..
Ok first Question Don't the 1991 SC's only have 2 Cat's? My mechanic is saying that he needs to replace my third cat?? to get me to pass inspection???

ok second Question
Why is my NoX level High every year! how do i fix this and what are other ways to lower your Nox level??

Thank you guy i came here because i know you guy know more about SC's then anyone else on the web
THanks!

YES. there are only 2 cats and a resonator. i think maybe some of the late models MIGHT have had 3 but dont quote me

so what should i do?

should i just let this guy try to replace a third cat thats not there??
or should i go there and pick up my car?
i even mentioned that to him "I'm pretty sure the '91 have 2 cat's and a resinator" and "you sure you don't mean the Resinator"

does the Resinator do anything for emissions??

And how the hell is my Nox level off the Chart Every YEAR!

Resonator

The Resonator doesn't do anything for lowering emissions. All it does is help to make the car sound a little meaner. all it does is just what the name suggests, it lets sound resonate inside of it.

I believe that the resonator is what the mechanic is referring to as your 3rd cat. Sounds like your mechanic doesn't know a whole lot about the cars. If you have any doubts, contact your local Ford parts counter, and ask them to pull up the exhaust system. They could tell you directly off the factory specs wether or not you do have that ellusive 3rd cat, or just the resonator.

found out i don't have a third cat..

I kind of knew that already but wasn't sure if i should doubt my mechanic for fear of making an a** of my self...

Ok so what other ways then replacing cat's is there to lower NoX levels??

Nitrous oxide right?