alert dumb question ahead!! Whats the difference between....

90turbo1

so I have been reading around but I am a supercharging noob.. I understand the principal to them and such and have installed a cyntrifical charger before now the thunderbird...

so whats the difference and what makes each one better..

stock supercharger (eaton)
mpx
whipple
ect. there are probably more.

just would like some info on there workings and pro's and cons of each.

thanks

so I have been reading around but I am a supercharging noob.. I understand the principal to them and such and have installed a cyntrifical charger before now the thunderbird...

so whats the difference and what makes each one better..

stock supercharger (eaton)
mpx
whipple
ect. there are probably more.

just would like some info on there workings and pro's and cons of each.

thanks

An Eaton (roots style blower) just moves air along, is not the most efficient blower. Best in a 7 to maybe 12 lbs of boost. Anything higher it generates a lot of heat Hince they are called heatons sometimes

A MPX is a roots style blower that has a bigger and better designed inlet and can run faster and move a lot of air to acheive bigger boost. It still generates a lot of heat and is still a heaton in my book

A twin screw(Whipple, Kenne Bell and others) compressed the air in the case and dont just move the air along like a roots style. Lower air temps and it is a more efficient blower. Can generate more boost efficiently and at a lower temp. More expensive and not available as a kit except by one guy here on the SCCoA.

Ken

Ken,

Who sells a twin screw kit for the SC?

Thanks,

Theodore