Anyone ever crossdrilled there own rotors?

phils89sc

Just wondering if anyone had ever done this on a set of stock rotors? If you start out with a set of quality rotors, a good drill press and a pattern, could this work?

You could, but for the amount of time, dill bits, and countersinks you will go thru it would be cost effective to just buy a set. You would also have to make the pattern so it hits in the open cavity between the two surfaces on every hole.

All of the Crossdrilled rotors Ive seen get Grooves on the rotor surface where the holes are drilled after some time.

- Dan

I cross drilled the stock rotors back in about 1996. I ran the same rotors until about 2005 when they became so cracked they weren't safe anymore. No ill effects other than the cracks. Took me about an hour with a rotating drill table and drill press.

I love cross drilled rotors. Defiantly worth the extra cost. I have been using cross drilled KVR's since 1997.

Some times you have to fight with the machine shop to get them to run the brake lathe at a slower speed but I was always able to get it done. Wrote a resurfacing procedure about it back in 99, here.
:D

I've always had slotted rotors on all my cars. Was never a real big fan of cross drilled. Actually the only reason I have my current 13" Baer slotted drilled rotors bc they had them in stock and ready to ship. If i wanted to get slotted only I'd have to wait 2-3 weeks. Lol

I wanted my car to be ready for Carlisle. They're kinda growing on me now anyway. Ha. Now I just gotta do my rears.

I bought cheap ebay rotors a couple years ago and always had a vibration from the rear. When I put the rotors up on the lathe I learned why. They aren't bad rotors if you have machines to straighten them out. Otherwise you are definately better off buying better brands.
Alan