94 SC Power Steering Woes Over and Over Again

tedallen

I have been fighting issues with p/s pump leaks and failures for about 6 months now. Based on content in multiple threads in this forum, I have been in contact with several members via PM to verify part numbers, etc. I thank all of them for their responses.

The original OEM pump (I thought had failed) back in February. I got a replacement from Autozone and took it to a trusted shop to replace it. After he got it installed in the car (and before installing the p/s pulley, the shaft pulled right out of the pump. I took it back to Autozone and they could not get a replacement for several days and I couldn't wait so I headed to Advance Auto and got a pump from them. About two weeks after it was installed, leaking badly. Took it back and got a replacement. As soon as the shop started pouring fluid into it, fluid was pouring out around/from the EVO. When I looked at it, I realized the O-ring adjacent to the "tee" fitting that slides over the EVO was missing. Installed a new O-ring and everything was OK for about a couple of months. Then after the car set for a week while I was out of town, drove it about .1 mile and p/s started making very loud whine, then p/s gone completely out (and no more whine). Made it into Autozone lot and poured in fluid, which ran directly to the ground. I then drove it home and parked it.

I attempted to find the appropriate O-rings (all 4 of them) for the EVO based on input from a number of members:

Bowez
Ford O-ring part numbers:
391032-S (Interchange for 389349-S)
I was able to obtain these and they appear to be for some of the larger 3 O-ring positions on the EVO​
387571-S (No longer available)
I suspect this kit was for the smaller O-ring toward the threaded tip of the EVO​

Bowez then responded with part numbers 384975-S94 and 391032-S from an old service manual. I do not yet know if either of these are still available from Ford.​

JimmyMan