Interesting spark plug wire issue..

Massoketsc

Okay so a little update.. I was reading up in my Chilton's manual and a couple of other sources.. in which it describes the Thunderbird SC as having a DIS instead of a distributor? Is this correct? I am really not up to par completely on everything with these cars and all of the meanings, but I am learning!

Another dumb question.. if it has a distributorless system, does that mean that it would not have a distributor cap? and being so, is the cap what the plug wires plug into underneath the hood? .. Only reason I ask, is that my car has something that they plug into, and I can un-plug them, and my Chilton book does not specify a year/model in which has a DIS and which has a distributor, but only describes how to take apart/install onto the cap/rotor etc. I just want to make sure I get all the parts right for when I decide to get this work done ;) I know i am a rookie, but there is only one way to learn :)

I have received quotes from 3 different places, two decent local shops, and a ford dealership(i knew this would be sky high, just wanted a comparison).. cheapest I could have a tune-up done with plugs and wires was $300, second was $380, and third (dealership) was $450.. first shop said I needed platinum plugs, second said it called for Iridium, dealership did not specify, but all said that there was much more labor involved than normal tune-ups (as one place has a special for $49 for tune-up, yet mine would be $300 because of the labor).. is this a fair quote?

Anyhow.. enough blabbering, I just wish I had the place to do it, and knew how to do this crap myself, it is rather embarrassing that I have to pay somebody almost a weeks worth of pay just to change out 6 plugs and wires :p

Thanks in advance ;)

Last edited:
this is all you need for spark plugs: flex head ratchet, 2- 3" extensions and a universal joint socket. all 3/8". you dont necessarily need the flex head ratchet but it helps A LOT.