looking at a supercoupe

bkcamaro

hi i am new to the form but not to the mn12 i had a 93 cougar with a n/a 3.8 auto and a 94 tbird 4.6 auto but i never had a supercoupe but i am looking at one for $1200 its a 89 with a five speed the guy regeared the rear end but other than that its stock i took it for a test drive but is there anything that i should really look at closer and is there any problems that the sc had

First thing to do is check for rust along the GFX, rocker panels, and underneath trunk area...

Open drivers door all the way, grab lower corner of door, and lift up on the door....

Any movement will indicate wear at the upper hinge pin.....

Also check every electrical item and switch that you can on the car....

Move both front seats in all 6 directions, from stop to stop....

Don't forget to try out the bolster and lumbar functions.....

Make sure you get to shift transmission into all 5 gears with no grinding....

Last, but not least, make sure keys work in all lock cylinders (doors, trunk, and glove box).....:rolleyes:

well i got the supercoupe and at a good price $700. $400 and $300 worth of parts. got the car home and was removing the seats to clean under neath them and found a huge problem a rust hole about a one foot by one foot. is this fixable and if so about how much
1st pic is from inside the car
2nd is underneath
3rd is at the being of the valley where they run the wires
4th is the seat bracket

Attachments

• 89tbird supercoupe 006.jpg
    89tbird supercoupe 006.jpg
    430.6 KB · Views: 115
  • 89tbird supercoupe 007.jpg
    89tbird supercoupe 007.jpg
    403.7 KB · Views: 112
  • 89tbird supercoupe 008.jpg
    89tbird supercoupe 008.jpg
    389.1 KB · Views: 99
  • 89tbird supercoupe 009.jpg
    89tbird supercoupe 009.jpg
    383.8 KB · Views: 93
Last edited: