PDA

View Full Version : best plug wires HELP ???

EatonEmployee
10-14-2010, 12:52 PM
F4PZ-12259-J
I am told this is the OEM replacement. It gives no MM. I am looking for the best plug wires. Preferably marked 1-6. Accel? I had someone put 8mm motorcraft but the part number didn't match and they are not staying snapped on the coil pack. I also am deciding to go with the autolite xp103 gapped at .046.

Any suggestions would be soooo appreciated. I was a 13 F-16 mechanic for the USAF and this is the only time when small hands are a good thing. lol.

Any help guys. I found a website that has a set for 42 bucks. The wires. I know the new 504 motorcraft plug at .054 are preforming bad and are not a good replacement for the douple p's original. The supercharger blows them out. I am also going a degree cooler for obvious reasons with the sc. I am then going to chip it to get my fans to come on cooler and optimize performance etc. I am new to the SC game.

Oh, one more question. Is it normal to have dimples in the sway bar cradle or U right under the oil filter. There are 3. Is it damage?

Lincoln (just back from iraq and too tired to figure all this out)

David Neibert
10-14-2010, 02:08 PM
I like the Taylor wires...very durable at a reasonable price. The number listed below is the direct replacement part number from Summit (red). They are also avalible in blue.

#TAY-74269 red w/135 degree boot 8MM spiro pro direct replacment.

David

Raymondo
10-14-2010, 05:53 PM
I purchased a set of Taylors....lasted about a year. I would go with Magnecor or MSD at least 8mm,8.5mm or possibly 9mm. Or Ford Racing.

The Magnecor part numbers are:
8mm - 60138 $93.00
8.5mm - 65138 $144.00

Ford Racing, through JEGS, is about $50

WhiteThunder
10-14-2010, 06:49 PM
I had a problem with Magnecor wires staying on the sparkplugs. Wrote to Magnecor and received this response back ...

To: "Edward Donato" <>
Sent: Monday, January 24, 2005 3:54 PM
Subject: Re: I'm not thrilled