New Guy question

bkosonen

Since I'm looking for a SC, Should I hold out for a 94 or 95 since it seems like they are alot better. Also how reliable are these? Would 180K be to many miles?

well im new to the sc world also but had a 94 4.6. id say 180... miles is alot. if ya do buy it the first thing id do is swap out the balncer with a good bhj. i need to do this on mine that i just got. its currently broke. also with this many miles id be concerened about worn out bushings, suspension components, engine, junky aod if its an auto. anyways if ya get it cheap enough itd be a good start. all just my opinion.

Since I'm looking for a SC, Should I hold out for a 94 or 95 since it seems like they are alot better. Also how reliable are these? Would 180K be to many miles?

180K isn't that bad. It all depends on how it was maintained by the previous owners. 94-95 are not necessarily 'better', but Ford's NVH (Noise Vibration and Harshness) program had started then, greatly improving the quality of most of Fords cars. The basic SC 3.8 had not changed much save for the higher flow intake and updated M90 Supercharger. There may have been other changes to the engine, but overall, it is the same. If you are considering the $1500 94 that you found and asked about a couple of days ago, dude, go for it! IMHO, I would rather by one that needs head gaskets, fix it myself, with the ARP studs, upgraded exhaust, ported exhaust manifolds, etc, and then driver her knowing it was fixed right then get one that runs already, and be waiting for a head gasket to fail. But that is just me. I'll tell you what, if you don't buy it, please let me have the name of the current owner and I will buy it! :)

-Phil

Also my big problem is I want the 94 that I was talking about, but I want to find out why its overheating because I dont have a trailer to trailer it home to work on it.