PDA

View Full Version : O2 sensor



sccrewzer
04-12-2011, 09:59 AM
Is there a differance in sensor I know there is two differant part #'s from motorcraft but don't know if it's just cause the length of the cables. I was getting terrible gas milage so I did a tune up NGK plugs Taylor 8.2 wires and motorcraft O2's but I got both the same part # thats all the guy on ebay had got both for $50 I thought it was a good price for both and didn't think there was a differance but after all that my mileage is the same what do you think?
It for a 92 with no codes reported.

90coug
04-12-2011, 11:38 AM
MOTORCRAFT Part # DY649 {#F0SF9F472AA, F1SZ9F472A}
F0SF-9F472-AA; 10 In. Overall Length; Front
Super Coupe; F0SF-9F472-AA; Front

What type of gas mileage are you getting?

sccrewzer
04-12-2011, 01:14 PM
[QUOTE=What type of gas mileage are you getting?[/QUOTE]

Well i'm not sure about miles per gallon but when I first got my car it had 160k
and I was getting about 340 miles per tank but now it's at 205k I'm averaging 250 per tank with freeway driving. Its even wosre if I drive on the highway most of the tank its a (5 speed with 3.08 gears) just wondering if gas mixture have change or those extra miles on the engine effected it that much. Mostly was concern about the o2 I might have to get the other part# see what happens.

90coug
04-12-2011, 01:47 PM
Could be bad gas, hard to say.

340 to a tank sounds about right.

340/17.5 = 19MPG

250/17.5=14 MPG \\ Freeway? Yea something is going on.

Maybe check compression, you've got a high mileage motor.

Good luck on the battle.

Regul8r
04-12-2011, 01:56 PM
I know it might sound stupid but...

check the wiring going to the O2 sensor connector.

Is it a 4 wire or a 3 wire.
Then check the O2 Sensor itself... same question 3 or 4 wire.

I bought a set at the parts store they gave me 4 wire for my 90, SOMEHOW they plugged in but were wrong. They kicked a code though!

The 92-95 should be 4 wire O2 Sensors.

just a thought