Latest upgrades to my 91 SC

David Neibert

SCCoA Admin
I've been gathering parts for about 9 months for this year's round of mods. Dave Dalke and his son Phillip spent Monday and Tuesday at my house where we installed everything and retuned the car. Unfortunately we were not able to get the new MP 95mm throttle body in time to be installed with the other stuff. We decided that since there wasn't going to be another oppurtunity to work on this car until next year..we would go ahead and do everything we could without the the larger TB, and I would install it later and cross my fingers that it didn't require much to fix the tune.

So we ended up replacing the stock brakes with 13" Cobra fronts, KVR slotted and plated rotors, late model spindles, sway bar end links, stock size KVR slotted and plated rear rotors with new pads and caliper repaint. I was also able to witness Dave's whack it with a big hammer method of removing ball joints without using a pickle fork and no damage to the boot. Prior to installing the spindles they were stripped down to inspect the hub bearings, and the rivots for the bent up rusty backing plates were drilled out, then everything was cleaned with a drill and a wire wheel to prep for repainting black.

Good thing Dave and Phillip were involved, because if I had done it they would have just gotten sprayed with brake cleaner and a splash of paint on the side thats visible. I think they put 3 coats of paint on them and they looked better than a brand new parts. The painting of the rear brake calipers was a much bigger production with everything all masked off and painting the frames black after replacing the slider pin boots and regreasing, then painting the calipers red to match the fronts..I was very impressed with all the effort that went into making everything look so nice.