Time for new head gaskets! Secrets?

beautymachine

Hey ya'll!

First post, I've been a member for awhile, have read hundreds of posts just hadn't had time to work on my SC yet.

Story: A family friend gave me his '90 SC, it had "brake issues", and had been sitting for probably 5 years without running.

I did the routine "crappy old un-ran car" maintenance ; oil, coolant, spark plugs, wires, filters etc.

Long story short I was burning up the old rear tires and ended up blowing my head gasket (who would have thought...;) )

SOOO having not done the heads on this motor (I'd like to think I'm a fairly competent mechanic) are there any tricks/tips one of ya'll more experienced fellas might have? Its all going down this weekend, I've taken a few things off the motor already. Top-end gasket got in yesterday. I also am converting to the power boost brake setup while I have some more room under the hood to move around. The stupid ABS is going to get smashed when I'm done taking it out...

Thanks ya'll!

Travis

Hey ya'll!

First post, I've been a member for awhile, have read hundreds of posts just hadn't had time to work on my SC yet.

Story: A family friend gave me his '90 SC, it had "brake issues", and had been sitting for probably 5 years without running.

I did the routine "crappy old un-ran car" maintenance ; oil, coolant, spark plugs, wires, filters etc.

Long story short I was burning up the old rear tires and ended up blowing my head gasket (who would have thought...;) )

SOOO having not done the heads on this motor (I'd like to think I'm a fairly competent mechanic) are there any tricks/tips one of ya'll more experienced fellas might have? Its all going down this weekend, I've taken a few things off the motor already. Top-end gasket got in yesterday. I also am converting to the power boost brake setup while I have some more room under the hood to move around. The stupid ABS is going to get smashed when I'm done taking it out...

Thanks ya'll!

Travis