PDA

View Full Version : spark plug gap



ganuolfthegrey
10-09-2011, 08:52 PM
is 0.35 to small? i am running 17.5 psi trying not to get spark blowout.

they are ngk iridium plugs

i am also running my snow kit 375ml nozzel

DriftingThunder
10-09-2011, 09:01 PM
I'm using NGK V-Powers (TR-6) @ .036 and it seems great. I can't say exactly what my boost gets to, but I believe it's somewhere in the 18-21 psi range.

rzimmerl
10-09-2011, 09:16 PM
I gap mine at .028" on plain Autolite copper 103's.

ganuolfthegrey
10-09-2011, 09:20 PM
i used to run v-powers but they where out of stock, so they sold me ngk single tip iridiums. i was just worrried about detonation, the car will be finished by the end of the week. he's tuning it tomorrow my break in tune.

i also have a kenny wagner dic if that helps. the plus are stock heat range.

rzimmerl
10-09-2011, 09:54 PM
With you mods you shouldn't be running stock heat range plugs.

ganuolfthegrey
10-09-2011, 10:39 PM
how many step colder should i go?

kenewagner
10-10-2011, 07:18 AM
Autolite 103s at .035 for anything over 15psi of boost. Dave Dalke had an informative thread that covered this subject a while back. Looks like some even gap smaller:rolleyes: I take it that your car is now up and running:rolleyes:

Ken

ganuolfthegrey
10-10-2011, 11:27 AM
no not running totaly,running only 30 sec's at a time. he has to tune it yet.

i figured it would be ok with those plugs,sence he's tunning it with those in there.

Silenced
10-10-2011, 11:36 AM
FWIW, Fresh plugs, and new o2 sensors would be a good idea before the actual tune is done.

ganuolfthegrey
10-10-2011, 12:23 PM
those are brand new plug's and the o2 sensors are 6 months old.

ganuolfthegrey
10-10-2011, 12:25 PM
i changed the 02's with the headgasket's blew.

r1dd1ck913
10-10-2011, 12:26 PM
So you going to go see your car today while he is tuning it?

ganuolfthegrey
10-10-2011, 12:32 PM
no i don't have time. i am meeting my caoch to train at 2pm. PLUS I AIN'T HOLDING MY BREATH THAT HE GET'S IT DONE TODAY.

i am about ready to tow it home,finish the little bit of bs stuff to do, and by a qh kit and put it on ryan's laptop and have him tune it.

at this rate i won't get it back until next october.

ganuolfthegrey
10-10-2011, 12:41 PM
ryan what is fwiw?

r1dd1ck913
10-10-2011, 12:43 PM
Yea that is way I wanted to get a qh1 so when I change something I can just re tune myself.

Silenced
10-10-2011, 02:42 PM
no i don't have time. i am meeting my caoch to train at 2pm. PLUS I AIN'T HOLDING MY BREATH THAT HE GET'S IT DONE TODAY.

i am about ready to tow it home,finish the little bit of bs stuff to do, and by a qh kit and put it on ryan's laptop and have him tune it.

at this rate i won't get it back until next october.

FWIW = For what it's worth

Ryan is like Dr. House.... The car has to have some amusing quality for him to tune it. He also would probably make you spend $$$ redoing things that aren't his definition of "Right"

Silenced
10-17-2011, 11:53 AM
Updates???