Anyone want to help me build a hood?

LXSC

After looking into the pros and cons of a Fibreglass hood, I'm leaning towards having something custom made using a stock hood. The whole idea of needing hood pins to ensure that the fibreglass doesn't tear at the latch doesn't appeal to me but I still need a few more inches of clearance over the stock hood for the engine. I have some experience with working with fibreglass and doing some body work but I have a feeling that I'd be better off working with someone with sheetmetal experience so I could come up with something like this: http://forums.tccoa.com/showthread.php?t=97219 (See near the bottom).

I'm looking to spend around $500 including labour and materials. IS anyone interested or know of anyone who might be interested?

I took an air tool cutter to my hood one time turned out like ~~~~~ lol keep us posted

my opinion on the hood you linked us to is that I like it but the sides of the scoop could blend better to the rest of the hood

OP, where are you located? I'd consider working on another one, but $500 wouldn't even come close to covering the time involved.

Here are a couple of more recent/better pictures of my hood.

DSC_85911.jpg

interior10-10.jpg

Badassness

That hood looks truly awesome. I wasn't hoping to even come close with $500 but I was curious to hear back from people. It looks like I'll be going the route of cutting a hole and then installing a fibreglass cowl.

I know I don't have the tools right now to cut it but I have been tempted to get some metal working tools. What does it take to cut a hole in hood?

Not sure where your located re Toronto.

I currently have a Cervini Mach Hood that will have 3" added to it this spring and I will probably keep it simple.

I am sourcing existing pieces and he will fabricate, finish and paint.

I am useing a contact that builds and repairs Racing Boats that run down south.

Can't promise anything but if you know what you want then maybe.