95 SC runs horribly.....new guy seeks wisdom

Roadracer

Hey all, I'm brand new to forced induction and SC's. Have a 93 automatic that's absolutely awesome! Couldn't ask for better.

So impressed I bought a 95 5 speed. Got a smokin' deal because the previous owner defaulted on the used car dealer that financed it for him. The dealer told me it wouldn't stay running because the cats were stopped up. I replaced the cats, no joy.

The engine will start after cranking, idle at 1200rpm (rough) for about 4 sec then slowly die. If I push on the gas it falls flat on it's face. I changed the plugs, that helped a bit but not near enough. After reading thru the threads I suspected a vacuum/charge pipe leak. I removed and sealed up the plumbing still no difference. drained then added fresh fuel, r&r fuel filter, no help

When it does run it has a dead miss, no doubt. It back fires thru the exhaust.
I noticed there was alot of 'wet' residue in the intake plumbing that smelled like gas and the engine oil smells like gas as well.

I appreciate any help you guys can provide. Sincere plea from a humble new guy

I don't know a whole lokt but you might check the coil pack and cps, We have been through similar situations and one of them were the culpurt. But don't know about the wet in intake? Do you know have the hg's been replaced? Don't know if that would account for that.

Alton VA - where that is located...we have a pretty good group of guys here in VA that cover all corners of the state. If you're near Roanoke I wouldn't mind coming over and seeing what you have going.

Sounds like it may possible have the wire firing order incorrect, could also be a cam sensor as well. Some first thoughts that come to mind.

Here's a link to firing order - http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=68255

-Tim

My 95...

... Had very similar issues before I put a rebuilt motor in. Some of the problems continued after. Here are some tests to do in order: