PDA

View Full Version : Grounding out sub amp?



94-5speed16
11-05-2002, 11:39 PM
I just put my two 12" fosgate subs with a kenwood 1000watt amp in tonight and i was wondering where the best place to ground your amp in the trunk is. I tried a few screws that were under the carpet, but when i did my amp turned on but sounded like the ground wasn't good enough. So i was wondering where anyone who has a amp in the trunk grounded it out at. I don't want to get more wire and run it back to the battery. Any help will be appreciated

thanks
dan

Tazer999
11-06-2002, 12:05 AM
ground it to the bolt which holds the upper part of the back seat in place

BlueThunder90
11-06-2002, 12:22 AM
Find a screw in the frame and use that. But make sure you sand off any paint or anything so that the screw and the frame have a clean surface to get a solid ground.

ottochaus
11-17-2002, 08:17 AM
when facing the trunk, i put a bolt behind the carpet on the drivers side about 6 inches away from the fuel shut off.

i sanded the paint but i ran a ground power block of it for my two kenwoods

works well for me