PDA

View Full Version : adding aftermaket oil pressure gauge and coolant gauge



92sclikenew
04-14-2013, 08:55 PM
installing some aftermarket gauges

wondering what everyone uses for T'ing off the oil spot so you can still have the stock gauge and the aftermarket one?

also what do you guys do to install the coolant sensor?

thanks

92sclikenew
04-15-2013, 07:17 PM
installing some aftermarket gauges

wondering what everyone uses for T'ing off the oil spot so you can still have the stock gauge and the aftermarket one?

also what do you guys do to install the coolant sensor?

thanks

no suggestions is there really not that many people with aftermarket gauges

if it matters i picked up some autometer c2 electric gauges

Kurt K
04-15-2013, 10:06 PM
This is what I did:

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/garage_attachment.php?id=687&attach_type=full

92sclikenew
04-16-2013, 02:50 PM
This is what I did:

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/garage_attachment.php?id=687&attach_type=full

I have an idea what needs to be done I'm looking to find out what exactly did you buy to make it work.. Thanks for the pic

Kurt K
04-17-2013, 01:04 AM
a brass 1/8" close nipple, a brass 1/8" tee and and 1/8" street 90.

Well, I think all the fittings have 1/8" NPT threads

Mikko
04-17-2013, 11:10 AM
I recommend to install mechanical oil pressure gauge,it is only way to see real oil pressure. I made it with the hard way,after I have some oil pressure issues,I installed aftermarket gauge (electric),it worked fine few weeks,then it got stuck. Then I get industrial pressure gauge and steel belted hose with it,original oil pressure gauge still works,but it can only tell that there is some pressure or pressure is lost.

http://blackbird90sc.pictures.fi/kuvat/1990%20Ford%20Thunderbird%20Super%20Coupe/2012-07-27-0220.jpg/_bigthumb.jpg (http://blackbird90sc.pictures.fi/kuvat/1990%20Ford%20Thunderbird%20Super%20Coupe/2012-07-27-0220.jpg)

92sclikenew
04-17-2013, 12:58 PM
a brass 1/8" close nipple, a brass 1/8" tee and and 1/8" street 90.

Well, I think all the fittings have 1/8" NPT threads

Thanks Kurt k I hope the same I ain't takin it apart yet but I'd like to buy what I need before I do so I hate running out in the middle of a project because I had wrong parts or missed something



I recommend to install mechanical oil pressure gauge,it is only way to see real oil pressure. I made it with the hard way,after I have some oil pressure issues,I installed aftermarket gauge (electric),it worked fine few weeks,then it got stuck. Then I get industrial pressure gauge and steel belted hose with it,original oil pressure gauge still works,but it can only tell that there is some pressure or pressure is lost.

http://blackbird90sc.pictures.fi/kuvat/1990%20Ford%20Thunderbird%20Super%20Coupe/2012-07-27-0220.jpg/_bigthumb.jpg (http://blackbird90sc.pictures.fi/kuvat/1990%20Ford%20Thunderbird%20Super%20Coupe/2012-07-27-0220.jpg)

Even a $250 autometer gauge?

Kurt K
04-17-2013, 01:26 PM
Thanks Kurt k I hope the same I ain't takin it apart yet but I'd like to buy what I need before I do so I hate running out in the middle of a project because I had wrong parts or missed something


I like these fittings over cast brass fittings because the flat sides are easy to get a wrench on them. My local hardware store only had cast fittings, I think I found these at Home Depot.

92sclikenew
04-17-2013, 03:00 PM
I like these fittings over cast brass fittings because the flat sides are easy to get a wrench on them. My local hardware store only had cast fittings, I think I found these at Home Depot.

Ok thanks Kurt know anything about the coolant end of things? Can I T that also and still get a good reading?

BirdofPrey97
04-17-2013, 03:40 PM
For the coolant I believe you can remove the current sendor by the T stat and put your temp gauge in there and leave the wire for the factory gauge sitting there(I would cap it and tuck it in) and it will read Cold, but your aftermarket will read correctly.

92sclikenew
04-17-2013, 06:10 PM
For the coolant I believe you can remove the current sendor by the T stat and put your temp gauge in there and leave the wire for the factory gauge sitting there(I would cap it and tuck it in) and it will read Cold, but your aftermarket will read correctly.

id like to keep all gauges working.. but i guess i dont have to..

the gauge did come with a bung that im thinking of installing into the tstat neck

slick59
04-17-2013, 07:46 PM
because the coolant sensor needs to have good flow over it, maybe install something like this in the radiator hose----

http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/yhst-5006790027353_2259_335964075

RalphP
04-17-2013, 09:06 PM
id like to keep all gauges working.. but i guess i dont have to..

the gauge did come with a bung that im thinking of installing into the tstat neck

With as rare as the thermostat housing are for the SC, I'd not touch it ... but instead, the unit that Slick59 pointed out would be a good idea.

Or, you know, you COULD remove the CELO switch, and use that bung instead ... just leave it disconnected, the only problem is when you kick the car on with it being -40 outside, it'll blow even colder until the motor struggles to get some heat into the coolant *grins*

RwP