automatic issue

unclefester

was wondering if anyone here has experienced this. car seems to start out in second. so i tried putting it in first at the next traffic light and when i went to take off it felt as if the rear end was locked up or the brakes where stuck on. put right back into drive and it took off fine like it was in second thought.

the car is a 94 ford thunderbird sc 3.8 supercharged it has been in a five year storage in a garage some old ladies car. battery went dead so she parked it. i have had it for a month drained gas,new fuel pump and fuel filter, i broke the gas gauge(still broke), had to add three quarts of tran fluid. regular maintenance. what do you all think? is she toast?

I’m no expert but it sure doesn’t sound good. My first thought after reading your post is it could be a MLPS (manual lever position sensor) issue. This sensor is located on the outside driver side of your transmission. I believe there was a TSB on the 94/5 MLPS,s. One thing I do know is if it comes down to a tranny rebuild I wouldn’t bother. You would be much better off scoring a good 98 – 2002 4R70W transmission form a V6 Mustang. There are some minor changes needed to make it work with your SC but the early 4R70W’s are much weaker and much more prone to have major problems than the years listed above. I actually have a 4R70W from a 2002 V6 Mustang in my 94 SC and I can honestly say it’s one of the best modifications I’ve made on this car. Do a search on tccoa.com and you’ll find a boat load of information about the 4R70W transmission and what it takes to upgrade it.