water line/break line

supmarjo

hi everyone, i got a chance at picking up a SC 1990...
the owner says
"The brakes went bad after a very well known mechanic put a water hose in where a brake
line hose should have been and it blew out due to corrosion"

my question here is how bad... meaning can a shade tree mechanic (me:))
fix it with out to much money$$$?

car has 82k red in color..asking $1700... i had a 85 turbo coupe,back in the day and looking
to get back into a Tbird .....i like the 85 body stye but the SC is looking better

im pretty sure all water lines to pump are big and could not be mistaken for brake line I would say if you have brake fluid in your engine cant be good I would think that would take a lot of flushing or polishing either way not a quick deal I would look at the car and the lines to get a better grasp on what your dealing with follow lines see where they lead you but I am not an expert there are a lot better guys on here hopefuly one responds to you

yes ,thanks for replying.
thats what i though a brake line and water line...small line vs big line,should be very different....it would seam impossible!

ill look at it tomorrow Thnks

"The brakes went bad after a very well known mechanic put a water hose in where a brake line hose should have been and it blew out due to corrosion"

my question here is how bad... meaning can a shade tree mechanic (me:))
fix it with out to much money$$$?
If its what I think, the only rubber hose is the reservoir supply hose. Find some brake fluid suitable hose (perhaps fuel line or power steering hose) to replace it. Other than that, there shouldn't be anything wrong with the Teves unit. Its something you can fix very easily.

Last edited:
If its what I think, the only rubber hose is the reservoir supply hose. Find some brake fluid suitable hose (perhaps fuel line or power steering hose) to replace it. Other than that, there shouldn't be anything wrong with the Teves unit. Its something you can fix very easily.