Needle bearing grease

figulaz

SCCoA Member
Has anyone used ...this stuff I came across it in a search that led me to GM supercharger forum. I'll go with the zzperformance stuff if no ones used it but the price seems right...I just don't trust GM guys.

I am not a pro at this, but it seems like it may not be right for the application. CV joints and wheel bearings are much different from needle bearings, and they typically turn much more slowly. These superchargers turn up to 14,000 rpm or so. If your wheel bearings were turning 14,000 rpm, your car would be traveling 1,124 mph. A more likely maximum speed for a wheel bearing is 2,500 rpm, which would result in a vehicle speed of 200 mph. From the extreme difference in rotational speed, I deduce that you are at risk of using the wrong goo for the job.

I used the ZZPerformance grease and it seems fine. You could also buy pre-greased needle bearings.

i sure have my doubts about it but i saw the label has >800 degrees. How hot do you think the SC bearings get? I suppose I'll play it safe but I find it odd zzperformance is one of the only providers for SC grease. I have JBA speedshop locally...they're good sized solid outfit...i figure they would have something. I called their parts counter and the guy said no ones ever asked him for SC grease. What would guys use on their weiands or whatever in the 70's-80's... pre M90? I'm tempted to buy a shop press and buy the pregreased bearings. It'll help when it's time for taller gears and hub swaps i suppose.