PDA

View Full Version : SCCOA being Flagged



bowez
09-12-2013, 06:06 PM
Not sure if its Google or Firefox on my end, but I'm getting a message about the Forum being an Attack Site. Something about two reports of malware in a 90 day period.

S4gunn
09-12-2013, 06:17 PM
Not sure if its Google or Firefox on my end, but I'm getting a message about the Forum being an Attack Site. Something about two reports of malware in a 90 day period.

Google Chrome just started giving me this grief this afternoon. For some reason, it lists the following items as being malicious.


Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/misc/navbits_start.gif
Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/misc/navbits_finallink.gif
Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/statusicon/thread_hot_new.gif Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/buttons/firstnew.gif Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/buttons/lastpost.gif Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/statusicon/thread.gif Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/statusicon/thread_new.gif Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/icons/icon2.gif
Malware http://www.sccoa.com/forums/images/icons/icon8.gif

This is odd because these are all gifs... apparently there was an exploit back in 2007 but you'd think it would have been solved by now.
-g

Kurt K
09-12-2013, 06:46 PM
I just got this message too.

Pat DiPersia
09-12-2013, 08:17 PM
Can someone send/post a screen shot? I used Chrome but no notices like you mentioned.

jjklongisland
09-12-2013, 08:24 PM
I am getting the same darn message...

jjklongisland
09-12-2013, 08:26 PM
Can someone send/post a screen shot? I used Chrome but no notices like you mentioned.

here is the advanced screenshot

jjklongisland
09-12-2013, 08:28 PM
here is the advanced screenshot

and additional link

Mike8675309
09-12-2013, 11:09 PM
Can someone send/post a screen shot? I used Chrome but no notices like you mentioned.

you may need to clear your cache so that chrome pulls back the latest images.

Ira R.
09-12-2013, 11:13 PM
I'm not getting it from Chrome but I am getting it from Firefox.

A1cntrler
09-13-2013, 12:25 AM
Firefox doing the same for me. Google lists the reasons:



Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for www.sccoa.com/forums

What is the current listing status for www.sccoa.com/forums?

Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 2 time(s) over the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?

Of the 94 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 62 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2013-09-12, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2013-09-12.

Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including myfilestore.com/.

This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS16724 (ESC-TPA-CW-AP).

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?

Over the past 90 days, www.sccoa.com/forums did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

Has this site hosted malware?

No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

How did this happen?

In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

Next steps:

Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.

Ira R.
09-13-2013, 07:13 AM
Guys this is a scam from some site looking to get donations. The issue here now is how do we get rid of this? Everything I'v seen says to remove the program that you downloaded, but I know I didn't download anything so whatever is now on my system I can't find it.

I am also loath to start playing with the registry or anything like that so I am very open to ideas here. Whatever the answer is a step by step how to would be very appreciated.
'
Ira

jjklongisland
09-13-2013, 07:51 AM
I see it from my work and home pc on google chrome only. Not for internet explorer or on my kindle fire HD... Very frustrating

David Neibert
09-13-2013, 09:06 AM
I got the same message this morning using Firefox.

David

Pat DiPersia
09-13-2013, 11:28 AM
Yes, I'm finally seeing it with Firefox, but not Chrome as originally reported no matter how I refresh (Shift F5, etc.)

Anyway, I have a ticket open with our host and they're looking into it to see if there's anything on their end.

SCDan35thANV
09-13-2013, 11:59 AM
I got it this morning in chrome so then cleared the cache and it went away for a bit and is doing it again.

S4gunn
09-13-2013, 04:01 PM
Here's the Chrome message I see when you hit "proceed anyway":

Recommendation:
Replace the gifs mentioned in my first post in this thread and then request a re-review of your site as the webmaster by google.
https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/home?hl=en

Swanny
09-13-2013, 09:04 PM
I don't see the message because I don't let Google track & record every site I visit like you guys :cool: :D

Jimmy 2Coupes
09-13-2013, 09:24 PM
I started getting the same screen message yesterday evening using firefox.

jjklongisland
09-13-2013, 09:43 PM
I don't see the message because I don't let Google track & record every site I visit like you guys :cool: :D

And how do you do that?

Swanny
09-14-2013, 02:10 AM
And how do you do that?

Well first thing is to delete the Chrome browser. Then turn off any "safe browsing" options in other browsers. Every site you visit is sent to Google if you have the default setup in Chrome. They track and profile you to profit off of you. But I'm getting a bit off-topic now :)

Pat DiPersia
09-14-2013, 08:05 AM
SHOULD be fixed now. If you're still getting the message, clear your cache and refresh, etc.

XR7 Dave
09-14-2013, 08:31 AM
Well first thing is to delete the Chrome browser. Then turn off any "safe browsing" options in other browsers. Every site you visit is sent to Google if you have the default setup in Chrome. They track and profile you to profit off of you. But I'm getting a bit off-topic now :)

I'm not too worried about companies profiting off my browsing habits. It's all basic bull crap anyway. I have adblock and have been using it for years. I don't see any advertising or spam at all. None.

David Neibert
09-14-2013, 09:27 AM
I'm no longer getting the warning message, so I'll assume that Pat got this all cleaned up.

David

jjklongisland
09-14-2013, 10:36 AM
I'm no longer getting the warning message, so I'll assume that Pat got this all cleaned up.

David

all better for me as well! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

KMT
09-14-2013, 11:01 AM
I'm not too worried about companies profiting off my browsing habits. It's all basic bull crap anyway. I have adblock and have been using it for years. I don't see any advertising or spam at all. None.

The ads are a diversion - they want to put software on your computer to use it as a bot and to harvest personal info so they can clean out bank accounts, etc.

Swanny
09-14-2013, 12:25 PM
I'm not too worried about companies profiting off my browsing habits. It's all basic bull crap anyway. I have adblock and have been using it for years. I don't see any advertising or spam at all. None.

Google is so much more than ads. If you have an Android powered phone, be careful, "Android phones and tablets are phoning home to Google, backing up Wi-Fi passwords" http://blogs.computerworld.com/android/22806/google-knows-nearly-every-wi-fi-password-world

Toms-SC
09-14-2013, 06:45 PM
I think you need to fear the NSA before google.

J dot Miller
09-22-2013, 09:06 PM
It is common practice for bad people to manipulate gif (and other image) files and try to load them with malware. If this happens, it is usually due to the host not keeping security up to date. Replacing the files is only a temporary fix. The host needs to prevent how the files were accessed in the first place.
:eek: