No start - Help!

BLOWNXR7

Hello,
I backed the car (89 XR-7) out of the garage, put it in first (manual) and it quit. It hasn't run since. There was no "sputter", it just shut off. I checked for spark and there is none. I replaced the DIS module, coil pack, cam position sensor and ignition wire harness with spares from a 1990 model. I exchanged each part individually and tested for spark every time. I have little mechanical knowledge and do not trust any local shops with this type of problem. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

David M.

You did great... cept for 1 little thing.... you need to crank the engine over and look at the dash to see if the upshift light (up arrow) comes on. If so, you hit everything except for the crank sensor. From your description of the shut off and nospart, this sounds like the likely culprit.

If you see this happening, check to be sure you crankshaft main bolt is still there. They have a habit of breaking and allowing the harmonic balancer to wobble forward enough to cause the crank sensor to stop.

Thanks for the tip, does the upshift light trick work with the manual trans? My light never comes on when driving. Also, after looking through other posts I saw the poor guy with the broken crank pulley bolt. I checked and mine is gone too! How the hell do you get the remainder of the bolt out of the crankshaft? I have another bolt and washer from my other engine, but I obviously need to get the rest of the original out before I can put it in. Any ideas?

Doesn't Start

I was driving mine home on day and it died on me. After hauling it to my garage and checking all the sensors, it ended up being a bad ground at the battery to the chassis. I'd take a look at that also.

The only way I know of is to take the crank pulley off and use an EZ out on the broken stud. From what Ive heard, due to the fact that the bolt snapped, rather than seized, it usually turns without a lot of trouble.