more blower questions

tim

I know after owning a SC I should already know this stuff. But what the heck you guys already know Im not that smart. So on 93 octane gas, no boosters or additives what is about the max boost I should be shooting for? Next what about compression ratio? I will be getting forged pistons and rods so I should be able to get whatever compression I want. I see a lot of the 5.7 guys with stock bottom ends running 6 lbs of boost. I have to ask myself why bother with a blower for only 100 to 150 hp. You guys that really know me know I take this stuff rally serious and like to buy the best parts I can afford. Is aiming for 20lbs of boost on 93 octane to much to hope for? Thanks again for all your help over the years. No matter what I drive I still think of this place as my club where I respect the answers and opinions of the many knowable guys on this board. Tim:) .

I am no expert that is for sure but I don't think it is a question of buying awesome pistons, and turning the dial up.

What is your current setup?

Get some awesome heads and a cam. Then a blower that meets your needs. Not much choice really, a M90...late model, MPX.......or go big......TVS, Whipple, etc.:eek:

As far as boost and 93 octane go are you going to use any injection with it? Whatever you decide you will want a good tune or it won't matter how good those pistons are.

20lbs would make me :eek::eek:

14 to 17 :D:D

14lbs on one SC could walk all over another with 20lbs, it depends on the combo of parts
Intake, blower, heads, cam, inj, IC and tune.
5.7L guys can only boost so much because of compression and lack of a blower piston. A lot of them have no IC so even 6lbs could be very high and close to disaster.