PDA

View Full Version : supercoupe running funny



pock1
02-06-2014, 11:07 PM
I got up Monday morning to go to work ,and my car is idling funny. it ran well the night before,but its running funny. im thinking since I put regular gas in $15 to get me to the week. but it was running fine and I didn't step on it (just 55-60 mph). thinking...maybe bad gas,moistger on the plugs, wires. I drove it 45 mins to work............not over heating(thought maybe I blew head gaskets)...no white smoke from tailpipes,no mixure of anti frezze on dip stick,oil cap and the anti frezze in rad still green:confused:i.ve yet had time to pull it in the firehouse to check it over. no check engine light.plugs, wires were done over the summer. hoping it just water in the tank from bad gas or a loose wire. it snowed a lot over the weekend and maybe the snow plow pushed snow and slush near the car , so maybe I have a moistcher problem. any ideas would help.

90tbird4.7l
02-07-2014, 12:06 AM
its your fuel, to run anything under 91 octane without an offroad octane booster in these cars you have to unplug the octane spout (located passenger side firewall behind shocktower). this is only ment to be used temporally to prevent damage. its just better to use the high grade. yeah its expensive but, in reality you waste more gas when it doesnt run right

pock1
02-08-2014, 05:01 PM
bought the bottle of the octane booster this am, drooped it in did some running around (in my truck to let it soak in or absorbe in the tank) still ran funny. pulled it in the bay check wires,good spark , checked all the way down to plugs all good and conneted no breaks in them ,checked for vacume leaks .no hissing checked sc tubes (took my 13mm and gave a lil turn) all were tight. took it to get premium gas(15 bucks worth) still running funny:mad: maybe I gotta just run all the gas out..smh.

KMT
02-08-2014, 05:36 PM
Seems like either you picked up some bad fuel (water) and now it's just a matter of overcoming that (treatments, new fuel filter, whatever), or a coincidental (mechanical) issue has popped up. If you don't have anything else to go on, have you checked the codes yet? A full tank helps reduce moisture inside this time of year, so....

pock1
02-08-2014, 07:22 PM
Seems like either you picked up some bad fuel (water) and now it's just a matter of overcoming that (treatments, new fuel filter, whatever), or a coincidental (mechanical) issue has popped up. If you don't have anything else to go on, have you checked the codes yet? A full tank helps reduce moisture inside this time of year, so....

I changed the fuel filter(it was old and had ice covering it) I mave have scrapped the bottom, stills runs the same, will check the codes tomorrow(I don't have a code reader) no check engine light came on, so ur saying that it might be on there. will check. thx

KMT
02-08-2014, 07:28 PM
Might be. Can't hurt to find out. Check around, some auto parts stores/tech centers will check codes for you free. I think it's mostly likely a fuel issue, tho :)

pock1
02-09-2014, 03:30 PM
a fellow sc friend of mines had an old obd2 (black) and was able to pull to codes....114 air charge temp out of range , 2 was 116 coolant temp out of range. air charge temp.is that the mas air flow senser?

KMT
02-09-2014, 03:36 PM
Was the engine completely warmed up before testing? What is the outside temp there now? Did you clear those codes and re-run?

See http://oldfuelinjection.com/?p=29

You can pull the ACT sensor and confirm it's not damaged, etc. easy enough, I'd think. There is a chart at that link if you want to test resistance. Not sure what they cost right now, but if there is any doubt about it's health, maybe just replace w/new.

cheezie
02-09-2014, 06:43 PM
That link took me to a malware site full of viagra ads!!!!! Oh, and it had an image of the act sensor too.


was the engine completely warmed up before testing? What is the outside temp there now? Did you clear those codes and re-run?

See http://oldfuelinjection.com/?p=29

you can pull the act sensor and confirm it's not damaged, etc. Easy enough, i'd think. There is a chart at that link if you want to test resistance. Not sure what they cost right now, but if there is any doubt about it's health, maybe just replace w/new.

KMT
02-09-2014, 06:46 PM
Zero ads when I hit it.

RalphP
02-09-2014, 11:15 PM
Cheezie - Dunno about your system but with Chrome on my machines, it goes to the proper site.

RwP

Scott Long
02-10-2014, 04:16 PM
ACT sensor is located in the return plenum near the wiper cowl on the drivers side. It mounts in the plenum that intercooler tube connects to.

Put some HEET in the gas tank to get rid of any moisture.

Mike8675309
02-10-2014, 06:18 PM
That link took me to a malware site full of viagra ads!!!!! Oh, and it had an image of the act sensor too.

Better check your system. Sounds like your browser has been hijacked and is inserting weird adds.

pock1
02-14-2014, 01:55 PM
before it snowed(again Wednesday) took the sc for a lil drive and pulled the act, check engine light came on so I installed it back in, check engine light went out. I think it still working and in it's range.it's been snowing in ny a lot so I haven't had a few days to really open it up.i ran the car enough to damn near empty.it put some more HEET in the tank along with premeuim gas on the next non snowing days, for now she just sits coverd in snow in my firehouse back lot:(

KMT
02-14-2014, 02:01 PM
Try not to let it sit in that weather with the tank empty - begging for condensate that way.

pock1
02-14-2014, 10:17 PM
Try not to let it sit in that weather with the tank empty - begging for condensate that way.

yeah I know, i'll dig it out in the am.

pock1
02-22-2014, 08:51 PM
well I had a chance to bring in the bird and look at her. checked pugs, wires, both good. was reading the Haynes book.......car has a slight mis- and is running lean.had a friend rev the car while is looked at the rear exhaust. a lot of unburn fuel coming out( im thinking car dumping it.the main computer runs the fuel ,so what am I missing. thought it might be a bad injector but I have no check engine light , and the only codes that came up was a 112 act senser out of range and a 116, temp out of range:confused:

pock1
02-24-2014, 11:24 AM
when working on the bird all day sunday,im hearing a hissing sound coming from back of the sc.i.ve replaced the unit in oct. it has a smaller pulley on it.when the car is at ilde u can hear it but I can't find it. I checked and felt what I can reach but no deal. I vacume leak will cause the car to dump fuel if it that bad........without a check enginelight?...........:confused:

superdadsc
02-24-2014, 12:31 PM
I am not sure what is wrong with your car but low octane isn't the problem. I drove my 90 w/ 89 octane all the time. Car ran fine with it. That is driving it like you said, just limping down the highway. The engine will ping at WOT w/ 89 but I used it just to cruise around town doing errands or down the highway to Atlanta with normal highway speeds.

Good luck finding out your problem!

pock1
03-08-2014, 12:26 AM
ok so im still trying to find out why my car is running crappy, poor gas mileage .my check engine light came on. checked the codes ....and came up with code 116..coolant temp out of range. ok I know where that is on the coolant pipe. put a new one in, still runs crappy:mad: I read that not only does the temp senser runs the gauge but also has a hand in fuel mix.could my plugs be fouled? I was checking the engine bay and came acroos the sensor on the passenger side under the throttle body another coolant senser(didn't know the 93 scs came with 2 ,but the part is not like the other can I 59998can't find out who has them or the correct name for it. can any1 name the sensor

KMT
03-08-2014, 12:36 AM
ok so im still trying to find out why my car is running crappy, poor gas mileage .my check engine light came on. checked the codes ....and came up with code 116..coolant temp out of range.

On your car, I think one coolant temp sender is for the gauge (on the thermostat housing) - one sender is for the climate control (on the pipe) - one sensor (ECT) is for the computer....it should be above the A/C compressor in a standoff for the heater hose (that pipe). The one in the image looks like a sender, not a sensor. You want the sensor that reports to the computer...it will have a push on plug/connector with two wires.

The ECT should look like this:
http://contentinfo.autozone.com/znetcs/product-info/en/US/wl2/SU201/image/2/
http://contentinfo.autozone.com/znetcs/additional-prod-images/en/US/wl2/SU201/2/image/3/

See this example for a '93: http://www.autozone.com/autozone/parts/Duralast-Coolant-Temperature-Sensor/_/N-9gslt?itemIdentifier=147389_0_18589_

pock1
03-08-2014, 10:33 AM
ahhhhhhhhhhh ok now were getting somewhere. I saw the 1 that sticks upward (going into the intake many. will go look when the car cools down.

RalphP
03-08-2014, 11:43 AM
If you end up replacing the sending unit(s), do remember - all but the ECT one requires a ground through the block, so don't just cover ALL the threads with tef tape. Be sure to just cover the top (outer) portion of the thread, leaving the bottom (first into the block) bare, for an electrical connection.

If you haven't, I'd also change the gauge sending unit, since there's a TSB on our vintage cars having failing sending units (reads low), but there's a later TSB on failing the OTHER way (reads high!)

RwP

RalphP
03-08-2014, 11:46 AM
ok so im still trying to find out why my car is running crappy, poor gas mileage .my check engine light came on. checked the codes ....and came up with code 116..coolant temp out of range. ok I know where that is on the coolant pipe. put a new one in, still runs crappy:mad: I read that not only does the temp senser runs the gauge but also has a hand in fuel mix.could my plugs be fouled? I was checking the engine bay and came acroos the sensor on the passenger side under the throttle body another coolant senser(didn't know the 93 scs came with 2 ,but the part is not like the other can I {PICTURE DELETED} can't find out who has them or the correct name for it. can any1 name the sensor

The one on the passenger side (which was in the coolant tube) is the CELO - Cold Engine Lock Out - switch for the EATC.

Put the old one back in, that's a switch, not a sending unit.

And *ahem* It's overdue time for you to pick up both the factory service manual AND the EVTM. The location diagram would have kept you from fiddling with that sensor (unlike me, who did the same thing due to a low gauge back when on my 5.0HO Cougar ... )

RwP

KMT
03-08-2014, 11:54 AM
..the ECT one requires a ground through the block, so don't just cover ALL the threads with tef tape.


Good point - the last one I bought/installed was pre-coated on the last few threads so no need to tape at all.

pock1
03-09-2014, 07:26 PM
Good point - the last one I bought/installed was pre-coated on the last few threads so no need to tape at all.

ok . well i have the 93 factory (green in color) book, so i picked up a new ect but my threads were not coverd and didn't put and tape on at all.guess that why it's still running crappy and i was in a rush.hopefully when i get back in town on tuesday i can redo the ect. im hoping that this is what making the car run funny.half of the sender is still out(i only put it in till it was tight...........didn't want tocrack the housing.i wanna go through the plugs and wires also, just don't have the time and its still brick in ny.

KMT
03-09-2014, 07:31 PM
The idea is to only coat enough threads so that it seals. If it's not leaking, leave it alone.

Restest codes, being sure to clear saved. You might also want to disconnect the battery for a bit to force the computer to relearn the new sensor, then drive it for about 15 miles. This should also help flush any trapped air out of the standoff.

pock1
03-15-2014, 11:45 PM
welp i finally found my strange miss,what made my car run funny.............checked and changed driver side plugs,wires*8mm) factory ford wires i found in my garage. what a pain in da !@#$%^&*(.took a break and let my back rest, then started on the passenger side, 1 st plug wire(1 nclosest to a/c the boot looed funny,spark plug tip wasnt blk.pulled it out...........bam found the culprit.:D my valve cover is ,was leaking on the wire through or side of boot spark plug had alot of oil in the gap:mad: the other to remaning wires and plugs had to wear and were clean. sooooo .....since the gap was filed with oil ,is the rings worn on the cyl? gonna do the next big project next wekend........valve cover gaskets,compression test on the cyl (100-110) good any thing lower is nogood...and oil change. im using 10 w 30 oil. since my od not working (it stopped at 101k) ive had the car on the road for 2 years (upgrading as i go) i think i put 15k on her so make it 125k on car give or take.chime in please.

KMT
03-15-2014, 11:55 PM
Is there a photo of that plug?

pock1
03-16-2014, 08:45 AM
i started to take a pic, but just wanted to get finshed on what i was doing. plus it wad windy as hell yesterday.

KMT
03-16-2014, 11:18 AM
I wanted to see it because I couldn't make sense of your description, sorry :)

Was there engine oil on the outside of the spark plug on the boot end, which could be if the valve cover is leaking like you said - or - was there oil on the tip of the plug inside the head?

pock1
03-16-2014, 05:30 PM
tip of spark plug,i had some wires that i put on the car a few months ago.the factory plug wires have a longer boot, the after market 1s i had on just coverd the top.looks like oil made itway around the boot and into the top of the boot ,ran down the plug into the hole.i cab see wgere the valve cover is leaking from out side and dripping down.