PDA

View Full Version : Super wheel cleaner?

Shooter_Jay
11-14-2002, 07:50 PM
My wheels have some very stubborn crud which has staked claim to the real estate in the crevaces of my wheels. I need to know how to remove the stuff without marking the wheels at all. My car is so beautiful, no need for this crud to stay. I have tried a few brands of spray on and rinse off stuff to no avail. I have some mothers mag polish, but I don't want to polish them, I just want them clean. Please help. Thanks.
Jay

eds94tbirdsc
11-15-2002, 02:05 AM
eagle one a to z all wheel cleaner and a brush

Shooter_Jay
11-16-2002, 03:33 PM
thanks Ed,
Anybody else have any luck with this before I go out and buy the eagle 1 a to z?

onequiksc
11-16-2002, 09:58 PM
I've been a pro detailer for more than 10 years now, and this is the $60k question really.

The best non-acid stuff i've come across is P21S all wheel cleaner. It's more like a spray on gel, and you can literally leave it on your wheels for hours , unlike 90% of them out there (don't even THINK about doing that with Armor All Quicksilver and a few others, or it's bye- bye wheel finish) It actually works as well at removing stubborn brake dust as the acid based cleaners, which DO clean WELL, but they are caustic and just weaken (and etch) the clearcoat on painted wheels, making it easier for dirt to bond the next time, not to mention hastening the demise of your wheel finish. For stubborn stuff you'll need to brush agitate it regardless what you use.

It's a very difficult product to engineer really, because hot brake dust literally burns/ sinters it's way into the finish, etching it and breaking the finish down further, making it tough to remove. If you don't use a product with the proper PH you risk discoloration and etching of the wheel finish.