PDA

View Full Version : high idle after m90 mustang swap

quatrini
05-22-2015, 12:57 PM
Hey whats up guys. I swapped my built sc engine into my new edge mustang and its idling high. Don at lasota racing is tuning it and says we cant tune any further until its resolved.
What happens is on a cold start it does everything normal for about a minute then right when the idle comes down it shoots up to 2200 rpm and will not come any lower.
I have an FMIC and the 90 degree couplers suck in under vacuum. Could that be the cause? Or any other suggestions for what i can check?
Tried 2 used iacv's no change after switching them

KMT
05-22-2015, 01:24 PM
What happens on both cold/hot start if you disconnect the IAC and then start?

quatrini
05-22-2015, 04:59 PM
I was told by don, my tuner, to follow the ford racing idle reset procedure, which is as follows;
-run the engine until you reach operating temp
-disconnect the iacv and turn the throttle stop open until the car idles at your desired rpm
-drill out the tps mounting holes so you can adjust the tps reading, then adjust to .97v
-reconnect iacv
for this reason, when I disconnect the iacv the car idles at 850, but runs rough, and lacks throttle response

I was told this is what needed to be done in order to get my car tuned right. but around the same time I did this is when my high idle problem occurred. its setting a code for "IACV % DC- RPM higher than expected" although the iacv is running 42% duty cycle and the pcm is not dropping that any to bring it down.

don suggested that my iacv was either wired wrong, or plumbed wrong. it couldn't be plumbed wrong cause it only goes on one way, and it cant be wired wrong because when I command a higher iacv duty cycle with a scan tool the rpm raises and when I command lower duty cycle rpm drops. so its wired right, correct?