Paint correction on these cars?

plethaus

Has anyone ever tried a full paint correction on one of these cars (with original paint on it still) with an orbital polisher?

I have some experience with my PC 7424 and doing a couple older GMs with decent success, so I thought I'd have a go at my 93. It's got original paint but badly in need of cutting/polishing, so I got started tonight and immediately I can tell this car is going to be a whole different animal from the others I've done. I'm using Meguiar's M105 and orange pad, which for those who don't know is a pretty standard combo for machine polishing.

Here's where I'm at so far. I'm just working a part of the hood first to see what I'm up against on the rest of the car.

Before:

16cKAM9.jpg

After two passes:

azdKJuP.jpg

You can see it's a LOT better but I'm not happy with it.. I thought maybe I'd try the more aggressive yellow pad and see where that gets me. Anyone out there familiar with the process and maybe had better success on these old Ford OEM paint jobs? :eek:

Attachments

• 16cKAM9.jpg
    16cKAM9.jpg
    323.2 KB · Views: 249
If it's OEM...how's the clearcoat holding up?

I'm not a paint expert but it seems OK aside from a few small spots on the front bumper cover. The car sat inside a storage garage for 9+ years so at least it was out of the sun/weather for a very long time. It's in better shape than the average SC by a long shot.

Also going to have to be very anal about keeping it waxed, it will fade back out again pretty quick if it doesn't have a good coat on it. If it gets to the point you have to be aggressive again, it's just that much more paint you r taking off

Looks pretty good. Need a pic from further away showing one area done next to another which was not to high light the change

Adam

I did my 89 this past weekend. I used an orange pad and miguiers ultimate compound and followed it up with turtle wax ice liquid wax. Its not perfect, but i think it turned out decent.