PDA

View Full Version : help with custom boost gauge install into stock cluster !



FrankenBird
08-10-2015, 02:33 AM
i need help to custom install a boost gauge into the stock cluster . does the boost gauge and gas level come out just like the tach and speedometer? i tried once but it wouldnt come out and nopw that i have 2 aftermarket gauges id like one in the stock spot sine the one theres needle broke off at the motor,grgrgrgrgrgrgrgrgrgr so im thinking can i just hollow that spot out persay and put the after market in its spot? the aftermarket is only 2in across too..any tips or pics would be awsome guys ! i plan on doing this some time today..lol 130 am and still wide awake and thinking about the bird.

WhiteThunder
08-10-2015, 01:17 PM
63901

I found that an aftermarket boost gauge will go easily in the stock spot. (Showing 9 pounds of vacuum at idle because of the cam. Volt gauge turned around so I can see the needle on 13 - 14 volts through the steering wheel when driving.) Used a hole drill for all the gauges. They fit so tight I didn't have to secure them from behind.)

Some SC owners manage to place other aftermarket gauges in the stock spots. I didn't have the patience to figure out how that's done as in maybe ditching the instrument circuit board?

Eddie Donato
'90 5-speed SC - modified
'90 automatic SC - stock except for double intercooler

Kurt K
08-10-2015, 02:04 PM
It takes more work, but you can mount an aftermarket gauge so it almost looks factory. Check out my garage page for my 92 for more pictures.

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/garage_attachment.php?id=1173&attach_type=full

aroot1
08-10-2015, 05:59 PM
There have been a couple threads where people have posted up doing a similar install as Kurt showed (including oil pressure and fuel gage I believe). I like the look/idea.

If someone who has done this could post up a "build"/tech how to on it that would be awesome. I'd love to do it as well, but am a little leary of tearing up parts to try it without some idea what I'm doing :rolleyes:

Adam

gbabione
08-11-2015, 09:27 PM
Here's a good link.

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?114386-Integrated-new-boost-gauge-into-my-dash

Kurt K
08-11-2015, 11:49 PM
Here's a good link.

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?114386-Integrated-new-boost-gauge-into-my-dash
Ha, I forgot I made that thread:rolleyes:

Nice find!