I think i blew another headgasket

philstad28

So a few weeks ago I finished my slave cyl and master cyl on my 95 5spd. I also installed a new freeze out plug because one just decided to fall out when it was on jack stands. On my drive home from my friends garage my car overheated and died. I do not have a working temp guage so I didn't know it was running hot until it was too late. I went to look at it and it turned out the freeze out plug I replaced just fell out again :(. After that I replaced the freeze out plug and used red rtv to make sure it wouldn't fall out again. I went and started it today and it had milky oil in it. I did the hg's a few years back and I am wondering if they went again or if just from overheating maybe some coolant went in the oil. The car isn't worth doing hg's again so idk what im going to do. Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks, Phil

Overheating by itself wouldn't cause the coolant and oil to mix, but certainly can cause HGs to pop. Sounds to me like that is what happened. Out of curiousity, when you did the gaskets a few years ago, what gaskets did you use, and did you use new head bolts/studs, or did you re-use the old ones?

I just used the felpro gasket kit. I did use the arp head studs though. It seems like every time I drive it something else breaks on it lol :rolleyes:

I'm curious as to why that freeze plug is failing....if the HG's were faulty to begin with that would (overly) pressurize the coolant system and could explain why the freeze plug keeps working its self out no?

Could be wrong but sound like either plug was installed wrong or block is warped. Are you sure its not condensation in the oil?

I installed new plugs when I rebuilt my engine ~8years ago and they were just a press fit (installed dry).